Valisms: To quote or not to quote, that is the question!

I’ve lived enough harsh years to have passed the summit of the quotation mountain, to plant my own flag. I stake my own individual claim to having something to say about being human and while I do love to meditate on the wise, witty and sometimes sassy words of legendary artists who walked the planet before me, I will now just leave my own. You can quote me on that.

 

 

“If you follow a tiger through the jungle,  it will eventually eat you.”

 

“Nothing can ever redeem the person who puts their own needs and fears ahead of the safety of a child.”

 

“There are two types of people in this world: those who milk the pity cow until it’s dry and those who feed it.”

 

“Anger can be  heroine or a vitamin, dependent on whether you consume it or it consumes you.”

 

“Those who hang on to an argument are always those who started it and lost it.”

 

“For every parent who sacrifices their lives for their children, there are ten who use their children to save their own.”

 

I will drop some Shakespeare here. Falstaff speaking, from Henry the IV Part I,  as it is a passage that has always had meaning for me throughout my life. The words are wise and I have tried to live them, not die them. They are worth considering are they not?

“To die is to be a counterfeit, for he is but the counterfeit of
a man who hath not the life of a man; but to counterfeit dying,
when a man thereby liveth, is to be no counterfeit, but the true
and perfect image of life indeed. The better part of valor is
discretion, in the which better part I have sav’d my life.”

 

 

 

 

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

