A FINITE

Sweeping clean the moon
and pinching out the starlight
thumb and index finger poised in certainty
the content of our few years smothered
wrapped in the ugly any occasion paper
Eventually the sighs outweigh the tries
and reluctantly I hold my breath
and collect all my screwy notions
about time and place and one more chance
just one more crackling remark from you
before I make great strategic strides,
leaving behind your rotten smirk
that killed the fly on the wall
that had been our voyeur since you stopped locking the door
against outsiders getting in
I didn’t actually care all that much
about ears and chatter
from your former and your latter
because the only thing I’ve ever had to hide
was my disgust at your disloyalty to our life and liberty

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

9 thoughts on “A FINITE”

  1. The first nine lines of this should be written on the back of every women’s eyes as a reminder… And men’s come to think of it. It’s all such a waste of precious days. Sending love and a smile your way. X

    1. Thank you Kiersty! I agree, we all need to recall exactly how we rise and how we fall. This poem is about a pattern really, a continuous unconscsious seek and find game I was playing my entire life to locate the man who would continue to treat me the way I was trained to be treated growing up. You know I’m not a proponent of psyche culture but it is true we repeat what we learn. At some point, you either die or become fully awake before you gasp your way to the other side. When I turned fifty mortality slapped me right across the face one morning, a realization that days are much shorter than at twenty or thirty and I KNEW the time was nigh to actually live and love the years I have left. It is so good to see you over here again Ms. Kiersty, you have been missed. I am now going to email you. xo

      1. well, everybody reads as he/she likes^^, there’s many things to listen to in the lyrics, there’s many things to see also in the vid, choose your own^^

    1. This is my daily internal rant about one thing or another, one person or another J. I think I have a great aptitude to be a miserable bitch if I let myself go so I am careful to reign it in and drop a poem here when the remembering builds to an emotional crescendo. South Canada eh? lol Hugs back to you good friend and I hope all is good in your world.

Leave a Reply

