Scrimper

Bottles

Cans

Copper

Aluminum

Dumpster diver

Desperate striver

*With just the right number of beer cans, pop bottles, a bit of copper tubing and a sheet of Aluminum collected while walking the streets for two days,  you can get enough money for supper OR the pain pills the free clinic prescribed for the cancer they won’t remove because you don’t have insurance. Which one would choose? Yeah, me too. 

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

2 thoughts on “Scrimper”

  1. fucking horseshit.
    blah.
    We separate our cans that have deposits out from the other recycling. We have several people that regularly “work”our street, collecting…

    1. LOL This is why I love you E! You are beyond perfection girl. I wrote this about a place called Mayhem. Do you remember a while ago, fuck, probably a few months ago now, I wrote and posted an excerpt from a modern fable thing I was working on called A Schwartz Story? The name of this poem is a character in that story and in that town, Mayhem, he does that, goes around collecting BUT the point of view from which this poem is told is…I’m not telling! You will have to read it when it’s done. Should I ebook it E? It’s only going to be about 50,000 words when complete so it’s more a novella. I’ve been trying things out on here for a while to see the reaction and I loved yours because it means this guy breathes lol and so I’m going to keep Scrimper in the story and expand his character, maybe give him a family or something as right now he just shows up one day. I also know about the people raiding the recycling boxes, I see them too but in Newf it’s not done too much the blue box so they mostly troll the streets and pick in the trash cans. There was a guy I knew when I worked at a care home here, he kept the roads clear in the village and used the money to keep himself in smokes. Nice old guy too, good soul.

Leave a Reply

