Activity

 

 

From butter yellow sunrises

To firecracker sunsets

I lumbered under the weight of a thousand eyes

Watching to see the cracks expand and swallow me alive

 

Over hills and bridges I walked in endless exhaustion

Under the radar I flew spreading my illegal wings

I dug underneath the refuse of discarded human beings

Feeling my way in the light of their darkness

 

In the hours between terror and cold daylight

Out of the black and blue and into the red

I watched their lips move in time to their lies

Listening for the melody of truth inside the dirty beat

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

2 thoughts on “Activity”

  1. I can’t pretend to understand this one, Val, but I love it. It sounds like some carrion bird or animal or perhaps Death scrounging. I especially love the line: ‘Feeling my way in the light of their darkness’ and the last stanza.

Leave a Reply

