Millstone

The day it happened

was wet and warm

a burden in the air

heavy and shifting

in early spring

before leaves were fully in their green

a June bug harvesting information like a spy

regrettably despairing of the human farce

he witnessed every day

you then professed a knowledge of things unsound

gave it to me to wear millstone like around my neck

I lost the ability to percieve

or the opportunity to remain naive

and the clouds gathered and the rain splattered on my pretty blue dress

and my innocence flew away with the cackling crow

who always seemed amused

 

 

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

8 thoughts on “Millstone”

    1. Thank you Denise, consider the thong tossed! Freedom is an open road with a map of my own creation and next year I am going to live my life the way I want to, purely, simply and without the poison of others seeping into my every moment. This lump in my breast may or may not be cancer, will know on December 29th, but it has given me the shove I needed to do something for myself now. It’s been a long time coming. HUGS and I like it that you appreciated that cackling crow, he was real. 🙂

    1. This actually happened and it is partly sarcastic so you tongue in cheek observation is quite accurate. Thank you Eliza, it’s always good to see you pop in and read my work. I’ve been very absent lately but will remedy that in 2012.

Leave a Reply

