Glory Suspended

This urging

like stampeding horses in my breast

shall I decide to embrace the genius of you

write you into existence

like the first star

a pin prick of light in the black and empty void

or shall I cast you off

like a threadbare jacket

ill fitting and no longer suitable for the gales of any November

I suppose I could mix all my metaphors together

nicely blended in a heart broken bowl of my surrender

but I will wait

as the spark has not extinguished itself within the moments it was given

and in the spirit of this ineptitude

a hungry childish heart begs fervently

for crumbs from the empty table

of a very lost angel sipping sorrow

 

 

 

 

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

10 thoughts on “Glory Suspended”

  1. Yes, to hold on or let go…it hurts either way. This is a wonderful poem. I still have ‘a hungry childish heart [that begs] fervently from crumbs from the empty table….love that description.

    1. Thank you so much Emma, your appreciation is no small thing to me. I am very astounded by the breadth of the emotion in your poetry and finding you has been my recent gift. Please come back again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

