Three’s a crowd

This relationship was too crowded from the beginning

there was

you

me

and your one true love who always had your heart and always will

your dearly beloved ego

 

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

14 thoughts on “Three’s a crowd”

    1. Thank you Selma hugs I used to have this ascetic perspective when I was in my teens, an idea that if I could embrace total humility then I would have conquered ego but as I’ve matured I have learned that this is just another form of egomania or self absorption. It’s very hard to be in harmony on earth, to be pure of heart but I think love and kindness embraced get us there somehow. I am so happy to see you back and healthy, you were truly missed. 🙂

    1. Thank Mark 🙂 I wasn’t sure whether I achieved the element of surprise in such a few lines and then I was concerned about the cheese factor as it’s been done to death like this with other things but I was mad at someone so I said puck it! Reading your reaction I’m pleased I did put it up.

  1. Define the emotional balance in a relationship between one self absorbed and the other if it is true that “ego is not a dirty word”, in practical terms.

    I reckon if an ego is hugged, it will hug the other ego back 🙂

    1. The situation is simply this on Planet Earth: The soul which is inclusive of others is here to overcome the ego which is exclusive of others thus the two are diametrically opposed. The wars we wage, inter personally and nation against nation are a reflection of this inner conflict. Ego works perfectly if you are simply a creature trying to do the basics of survival and procreation but when you get into the territory of compassion, love, friendship and all the activities of a more refined and developed emotional life, the ego then becomes an adversary to internal progress and enlightenment…that is if a person believes in those things and strives to conduct themselves in a more peaceful way down the path of life. Only a soul can hug an ego but then the ego is never satisfied and therein lies the potential for souls removal from the scenario mentioned above. By the way, good to see you Mr. F 🙂

    1. Yep, that just about sums it up Denise for every serious relationship I’ve had. I think I attract this so now I try to repel and it’s working marvelously! 🙂

Leave a Reply

