Terminal Grace

Someone once said they loved me

but I can’t be precise

about the identity

of so many

palms up, eyes pleading

Please believe

paper heart pinned to his sleeve

beseeching my acceptance

to fall for romantic illusion

their names and faces merge into a dirty smear

on my clean white sheet of needy gullibility

these givers of everlasting, soul consuming adoration

It may have been the fifth

or was it the sixth

that painted the indelible

cynical

smirk

in permanent painful

broken hearted marker

on my inside face

the personal one that can see through the sham

with terminal grace

 

 

 

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

10 thoughts on “Terminal Grace”

  1. I wanted to comment on Peg. I’ve read it three, four times and love it more each one. But then this one is just as evocative and the line ‘paper heart pinned…’ is just gorgeous. Hello, lovely. I’m sending a smile your way.

    1. I’ve been down this road too many times in my life and for me this is emotional using or ‘sponging.’ I am however past all this once and for all and embracing my own good company now. I’ll leave romance behind and concentrate on my soul now and my daughter’s well being. It’s a good place to be, contented.

    1. You sound happier J 🙂 As for this poem, I’m on my way to thinking of things with gravity, like cancer, old age (if I’m lucky) and death and what I’ll leave behind when I go. My goal is to be remembered for my kindness and my love toward others everything else is bullshit.

Leave a Reply

