Rez Dog

He was cold

when I found him

shivering underneath the moss covered floorboards

of an abandoned shack

situated beside the shack

where my baby and I had shelter

He was hungry and afraid

with welts from being beaten on the left side of his belly

a whimper when I approached

brown eyes milky from malnutrition

I lured him with smoked salmon

the tribe had left for us

We’d been eating it steady for two weeks now with just water and some stale bread

but we shared with this border collie

my daughter named ‘Pepper’

because of his black and white fur

missing in places from the ravages of hunger and the elements

we loved him back to health

slept with him

and in time he returned the favour

by keeping the coyotes away

his loyalty and devotion were never in question

and it comes to me to wonder

if I saved him

or if he saved me

I think it may have been both

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

8 thoughts on “Rez Dog”

  1. Very nicely put Val. FELT the pain of that little quivering ball of fur and the bond of love and trust that you subsequently developed with it.

    1. Thank you psyve, he was a brilliant canine, both he and the dog I had at the time, Murray, taught me a lot about myself. I will love and miss them forever. 😦

  2. Love this. The relationship between beings shouldn’t be complicated by overthinking… it’s about each giving the other what they have to offer and recognising how much that enhances life. Throw love into the equation and its impossible to fault. (I’m still reading. Still here though quiet. x)

    1. Missed you. 🙂 I agree with all you’ve said. Many of us think too much and feel too little and that is the entire problem on this fucking planet K.

    1. I love dogs, cats, birds, fish, bugs, reptiles, anything in nature. There is a purity to creatures that we humans either lost or never really had. We need them to remind us that we have a long way to go. The dog in the poem, Pepper was real as was the other dog we had Murray. Murray was a golden retriever/springer spaniel mix and as loyal as anyone I’ve known, human or animal and together those dogs kept us from serious harm many times. I will love them forever.

    1. You know E, out there on the rez, with very little to no contact with people, those dogs ceased to be dogs, they became friends with fur and yes I had to make you love a dog. By the way, I’m mostly a cat person now.

Leave a Reply

