It’s a Frank McCourt Day

It is interesting to me that Frank McCourt struggled against opposition most of his life. At first it was basic survival under the weight of soul destroying poverty and abuse. Then it was his dream to ink the truth about that childhood, to have his say and expose his heart, basically to do that which he was born to do: write. I recall seeing an interview he did with George Stroumboulopoulos on the CBC a few years ago. During one segment of their chat George asked Frank about the criticism he’d received from his family for writing the book. His reponse was terse and clear: “I told them, if you don’t like it, write your own goddamn book”

Frank’s words ring true for a lot of people who step outside the box other people have placed them in. Whether your box is poverty, abuse, lack of education, physical or mental disability, racism or sexism, ignore those who want to claw you down.  Keep your focus on your purpose and to quote Frank once again, “Let them write their own goddamn book.”

 

 

 

 

“…you, the privileged, the chosen, the pampered, with nothing to do but go to school, hang out, do a little studying, go to college, get into a money-making racket, grow into your fat forties, still whining, still complaining, when there are millions around the world who’d offer fingers and toes to be in your seats, nicely clothed, well fed, with the world by the balls.”
― Frank McCourt, T’is

 

“I must congratulate myself, in passing, for never having lost the ability to examine my conscience, never having lost the gift of finding myself wanting & defective. Why fear the criticism of others when you, yourself, are first out of the critical gate? If self-denigration is the race I am the winner, even before the starting gun. Collect the bets.”

-Frank McCourt

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

4 thoughts on “It’s a Frank McCourt Day”

  1. I worship him. Talk about a writer who is a perfect mix of romantic prose and biting tongue. Angela’s Ashes was better, but I can only imagine how his life changed between writing both books.

    1. He was, in my opinion E, the modern Dickens. He is very underrated because he was a memoirist which is idiocy because we all know fiction is completely biographical in some respect or other. Oliver Twist and the characters were actual people Dickens knew, he just changed their names etc. I’m with you E, I worship Frank’s work too, he was a beautiful man and writer.

    1. 🙂 Yes Dave, it was one of the best books I’ve ever read and just because you said it I am now going to read it again! This will be my thanksgiving book. I’m off to the bookshelf now.

Leave a Reply

