Barking

There are no ideal places

no sun drenched corners in love with the early morning

or kissing friends to greet on the shady side of the street

no bowers of a fragrant still life suspended in middle age air

no sage borders to hold up your sagging reference to hail fellows well met

Instead it’s all just blackened ivory towers twisting up the atmosphere

with dirty laundry hanging itself on all the embellished stories you tell

for the bottom of your tell tale heart

for the ten second reward of being interesting to the pack

of wandering mongrels hungry for a morsel on which to chew

and you know what they say about this breed of canine:

a dog that will bring a bone

will also take one away

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

4 thoughts on “Barking”

    1. Exactly Denise! I can only speak for myself, but for a while now I’ve experienced a certain type of nasty that is hidden beneath a veneer of friendliness and fake compassion. Because of the experiences and situations myself and others have endured it makes you vulnerable to a particular type of person who sees you as a threat somehow. When a person overcomes abuse, adversity and pain, some people don’t like it. In fact, if you not only survive horror, but go on to do good things in spite of adversity, there are some who hate you for it and will back bite like a pack of coyotes. Some human beings like to keep those they deem inferior to them in the ‘victim box’ so that they have someone to look down on and patronize. If you step out of this box, you will surely see opposition coming at you. The truth is, I’ve not been in that box for a long time and if the perception of some is that I am, that has more to do with their distorted perceptions of life and other people than it does with me. I’ve always been very open about my experiences because when I got my daughter back after her abduction, I promised whatever intelligence is behind humanity, that I would share it so that others would feel that they can make it. I started this blog to pull people out of the victim box and I’ll keep doing it, no matter the negativity hurled at me from people who clearly have nothing better to do with their time. The age old truth is that a pack of coyotes always turn on each other during lean times, when very little food is available and the one left standing usually ends up in that victim box themselves. 😉 HUGS Denise and thank you, The dogs will derive no satisfaction from this sector, not ever.

Leave a Reply

