Monty Python, The Black Knight and Me

When I first saw Monty Python and the Holy Grail, Dave told me I had to pay special attention to the part with the black knight, the part posted above. When the movie was over Dave said: “So, what did you think of the black knight?” I said : “He has issues with knowing when to walk away and acknowledging that his arse has been kicked.” Dave said: “Remind you of anyone?” I said: “No, should it?”  Dave said: “Yeah Val, go look in the mirror.”

So, there it is. I am like that and I now see it as a good thing, an attribute of character that has been responsible for keeping my child and I alive under intolerable circumstances. I may not always win but at least I can take pride in the fact that I go down fighting when I believe in something that matters to me.  I stand or fall according to my own actions and my face and name are all over everything I do, say or write.  This can be scary but it is ultimately the price you pay for self respect. Edna St. Vincent Millay said this:

” A person who publishes a book willfully appears before the populace with his pants down. If it is a good book nothing can hurt him. If it is a bad book nothing can help him.”

The same can be said about blogging and online magazines that publish the work of writers of all stripes. So, in the spirit of the black knight who went down fighting and Edna St. Vincent Millay who regularly dropped her pants in print and during recitations, I’m going to drop my pants, black armour and pull out my rapier. I’m taking submissions at my new baby tuckmagazine.  If you have poetry, essays, short stories, flash fiction, book reviews or interviews send them here: submissions@tuckmagazine.com. The deadline for submissions is September 24 with a debut of the magazine on October 1. Send it either in the body of the email or as a word doc. Word count requirements are as follows:

Short Stories: 800 to 2400 words

Flash Fiction: 100 – 800 words

Poetry:              2 poems per submission with nothing exceeding 30 lines

Essays:               800 words

Reviews:            800 words

Interviews:       10 questions

There is no theme except hellish good writing that you would be proud to see posted and that will inspire readers to return. In the end lovely scribes, it’s not about the academics or the writers, it’s about the readers and it always will be. There is also a video area on the front page for those who give live readings or who have put their work to visuals and music on youtube, just send the link in an email.  Have a brilliant weekend!

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

8 thoughts on “Monty Python, The Black Knight and Me”

      1. Jeepers, I liked it too! I remember that song very well, we used to sing it as kids. Oh well, it was good to hear it anyway and I thank you for this! hugs

Leave a Reply

