COQUETTE

I watched her perform from my vantage point in the observation corner of life

She isn’t a rare breed

nothing of personal significance is left behind when she ceases to be

She sits in bars and cars, finger twist of hair flipped to ferocious perfection

She is careful to avoid the harsh reality of full on daylight

because boozy nights and those desperate fragile needy mornings

playing dumb with giggles and jiggles

may captivate the men for a while but soon they cotton on to the girly guile

the mask for instability is always something wild

The men

how many she cannot recall

a husband or two

lovers galore

like a Bond film cutey

but on clear eyed days when everything is sharply contrasted

like a knife to her gut

she sees the fine line between being liberated and being used

but her bartering days are numbered over forty

the gray traversing raven locks exposing age

She sees the others coming now

the younger versions of herself

pert and pretty competition

who cast a shadow over her desires

leaving her to sit in lonely contemplation

of her lack of personal bravery

and the gracious things she threw away

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

11 thoughts on “COQUETTE”

  1. Haven’t we all been this women in some way or another, even if we’re men?

    Val, I absolutely love this. You’ve really done it. As they say a poem is a “word picture” and yours is clear, colorful, and beautifully framed, with a hint of mystery about what took place just before and just after the snap of the shutter.

    They also say, that writing should not be a mirror, but a rather, a prism, and I’d like to put your prism up to my window and see what else it can conjure for me. Thank you for being such an inspiration…

    1. This is true Lourdes, many men are this way also and it is such a sad empty life. Human beings learn behaviors like this that eventually become character traits after a while and they are difficult to change, not impossible but very difficult. This song is a perfect way of expressing the origins of a life lived in this unhealthy way. Oddly, the man who wrote and is singing it is himself this way which is probably why it’s so full of insight. πŸ™‚ By the way Lourdes, I feel this way about your writing too, you have so much creativity in your soul waiting to be expressed. hugs

  2. I have come across this woman. In the very early days of my marriage she tried to cause problems with her looks and overblown sense of sex appeal. I saw her again recently and she was haggard and wrinkly. She has not aged well. I think it’s because she has spent so many years trying to cause others misery by playing the femme fatale.

    Your last line just kills me because it is so true. It almost makes me feel sorry for such a woman. Almost….

    1. Almost…exactly Selma. Life is a series of choices and people of both genders make them based on a combination of factors. Sometimes these factors are completely selfish and lazy, such as the coquette mentioned and this is why they are not to be pitied. I have also come across women like this when married and when you break it down, they usually hate other women and compete endlessly this way. I have never met a woman like this who had close girlfriends, not ever and I think that says it all. Both men and women are important to me in my life but without my close girlfriends I would be lost, totally a mess.

    1. LOL Denise Yes, age is difficult for many to accept but I think it may be more to with our culture and how it looks upon age with disdain and even shame. I wonder how the world would be if we had no mirrors or reflective surfaces at all? πŸ˜‰ Vanity is the ultimate vice in our world, always has been.

Leave a Reply

