US

I see a picture

every day

A propped rectangle of love on my desk

when the day is beckoned by the boredom of the night

it’s there this singular token of heaven

like new copper pennies you find that make you look up instead of down

In it we fill the frame

side by side

just you and I

my hair is a yellow bob with jittery edges that frizz

your hair is pencil black/gray and arrow straight

a solid halo outline of serious angelic intent defines you

there are smears of red and green on my both wide and narrow slacks

one leg shorter than the other

your own lemon coloured shirt is very long and one arm is thin and bent

as if the fat blade of grass is being far too pushy

though it suits your peppermint pink jeans to a T

together we stand precise with our backs to the viewer

facing forward against an invisible wind

a compact solid unit of two

arms extended

our hands clasped in honor of our pact

an agreement made in that silent maternal language

without sound or vowel or hard crushing consonents

just the quiet whooshing of your heart in time with mine

before the light hurt your eyes and the world betrayed the magic of love

But here in this meadow of your creation, you stand just ahead of me

your legs poised to take new not so baby steps

with hope for dreams that come true

just enough we are bent forward

to show it is your future we are anxious to explore

leaving behind an angry empty past

the uncertainty mapped out in the slashes of crayon green grass

the colourless sun arcing effectively above the lined paper earth

touching a curvy topsy turvy horizon line

all framed in polka dots of primary colours

all this you drew for me

when you were almost seven

*For Faye, the most beautiful soul to grace my life. She is the force that inspires the beating of my heart and the breath in my body, my sweet daughter.*

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

8 thoughts on “US”

  1. Speechless,yet must admit this is beautiful and love guided you through each line and placed tender words in a heart that knows of such feelings,mine.
    Thank you Val πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you J πŸ™‚ I knew you would understand as you have a daughter of your own who is also perfect and wonderful and talented and fantastic and precious and adored! HUGS to you both.

  2. I love the way this gently unfolded, Val, to reveal the whole. What an inspired poem. Beautifully crafted. Thank you so much for posting it. There is something so wonderful about innocent childhood…

    1. My daughter will soon turn fourteen and I’ve had this picture she drew for these seven years. I think I will have to laminate it to protect it from fading because one day, if she has children, I will give it to them! As it happens, my daughter is a talented artist now. I’ll post some samples of her work in my next post. πŸ™‚ I’m so damn proud of her she has overcome so much in her life and she is my shining star, my heart. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

