Smelling Rats

Something told me

by the way the bead of sweat ran down your cheek

that I was going to be very strong

and you would be very weak

It’s just a simple natural fact

you drama up and overreact

to hide the lie you can’t retract

but a cat can always smell a rat

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

12 thoughts on “Smelling Rats”

  1. Oh, I like this a lot. Like like LIKE. I have been there. I have felt like this. You have described it much better than I ever could. I feel like adding a good Aussie term to it which I feel fits – BUSTED! The bead of sweat is a perfect touch….

    1. Thank you Selma 🙂 I always cherish the memory of that bead of sweat while watching the wheels inside the mind of the sweater, desperately looking for a way out the trap they actually set for themselves by lying. LOL Yeah, Busted is the word here for certain!

    1. Thank you Guy. I wrote this for one person in particular who unfortunately is a complete copy of a person I knew prior to knowing them. Let’s just say I’ve stopped repeating myself and this is the proof. lol Damn, life makes me tired. Sigh.

    1. And this is about another guy I once knew….lol Thanks Evelyn. Geez, the worst men get so much airing out on this blog! The narcissist in them would adore the attention so it’s good they don’t have an inkling. 😉

Leave a Reply

