Romantic Amnesia

We could once upon a time this

take it for a second round

running rings around the ring

drunken punchers boxing twin shadows on the wall

or

we could forget the whole damn thing

the lusty punch

the raging ring

look at it as a transgression of will

into the land where thoughts are kept private

a romantic amnesia of sorts

where faces are foreign

and names are unknown

and

and

and…you are?

Somehow I’ve forgotten to care

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

8 thoughts on “Romantic Amnesia”

  1. The past, I find now, is well left alone. We can’t change it – maybe thank God – but forgetting’s not easy…. and no matter how bad it was, there were, if we’re honest, some good parts in the beginning…

    1. I agree Denise, things happen for a reason and changing the architecture of the past can have repercussions that resonate in other lives and not always in a good way. The past is a monument to our character I think. The good times, at least for me, become a faded lie when the truth of who the person is emerges. My own experience has been that when someone has treated me like dirt the sweet and loving early days were the perfect lie they manufactured intentionally to lure me into a nightmare situation. The fragility and imperfection of human beings has never been difficult for me to overlook in myself and others but the intentional hidden character and out right deception some people practice to seduce a good person is hard to forget and actually it shouldn’t be.

      1. Dear Val, you are 100% right. I realised that subconsciously a while ago, but blotted it out, haha! It was indeed a deliberate deception. I was so gullible and naive! Everyone else could see, friends, parents etc warned me, which only served to make me more stubborn than I usually am. Thanks, my friend.

      2. You’re welcome and thank you Denise for always reading and understanding what I mean. You could say we are both shrewd now and isn’t that the basis for wisdom? God, if I’d only figured this stuff out when I was twenty my life would have been completely different in a good way. Of course, without learning it from experience we never listen, any of us do we? Sigh. The folly of youth I guess. As for the deception being deliberate, I feel that up front good people find it difficult to accept this truth about another, especially one to whom we have given our hearts. For me, I’m an either or type of personality. If someone lies to me, then every truth prior is tainted with that lie. Once I start to scrutinize it’s time for me to move on from that person. I don’t always let them know the extent to which I’m aware of their deception because it’s a waste of time. Getting out of the poisonous air they continually spew around them is the only way to deal with it, to leave.

  2. Somehow I’ve forgotten to care

    i like this line – it suggest a little lie. a forced loss of memory
    which is, deliberately, impossible.

    1. It is impossible in a way Guy, but when love dies due to the betrayal of another, one may forget emotionally and not mentally. I think that is more what I meant, the emotional forgetting the feeling of love for someone who has hurt you. Good to see you around here again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

