Stripes

ThereisabigscarletscarwheremyheartusedtobeandwhenanyonegetsclosetoitItendtowanttoflee

Ithinkthatsomethingsneverhealandsuchisthecasewithstripesliketigerstheycanneverchange

youlivewithhurtforlife

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

12 thoughts on “Stripes”

    1. 🙂 You rock too Evelyn! This is how I think, in runonsentencesandthoughtslikeadamnchainlinkfence. 😉

  1. It’s been a while and it was nice to come back and be greeted by this post. It has been my experience and maybe I’m the minority, but our wounds and hurts are where the light comes in

    1. Hi Dave, I’m happy to see you again! You’ve been missed. I hope your summer has been filled with joy, laughter and peace. I agree with you, that hurts are opportunities for growth and yes the light of peace and love. Sometimes though, the burden can be heavier than the strength of the one who carries it. We live, we learn but sometimes we break. Perhaps the breaking is a source of learning for those who witness it. I hate to think that some things are for nothing, that makes the walk on this planet truly unbearable.

    1. I hear that J 🙂 It’s a sucky ass kinda life sometimes eh? But then one day, while you are out driving, 90 degree temperatures making your bad hair day badder and wilting your damn near every dream, you look up and there ahead is a sign, perhaps from the heavens or god (whatever he/she may be) and you know it will all be okay, you can make it another day. The sign? Dairy Queen three miles. 😉 got ya to laugh didn’t I?

  2. These scars are comparable to an ulcer (in fact I have an ulcer too) that never realy heals, but can break out now and then… Nice experiment, Val! Like it doesn’ty hurt if you say it fast enough!

    1. Yep, it should be read like ripping off a band aid Denise! 😉 I like your ulcer analogy because that is very much how it is, chronic, painful and life altering.

  3. Amen. I tend to compare my heart more to a misshapen bleeding mass of raw hamburger (it’s not gone; still twitches & bleeds). Still don’t want to show it to anybody.

    1. Hi endurovet, good to see you here again 🙂 If it still beats, then it’s capable and you are alright. I hear ya about the raw hamburger, dayum it sure does feel that way sometimes when it truly aches but we are here and we can talk on it and that is good. hugs

  4. I wish I had some Oprah-isms, but I don’t. I really don’t know for sure what happens to the tigers stripes. I think mine just faded a bit, thank God, and I may be mistaking it for change. Anyway, I’m rooting for you.

    1. Thank you scribbla 🙂 Mine are undergoing a shrinkage I think but I gotta tell ya, it’s painful. Somehow we will all get there, to that good place we should be. By the way, you are writing some quality stuff over at your place, really good work dude.

Leave a Reply

