Your Face

Oh you

so sensible honest and true

your fragile egg shell eyes of blue

take it on you like rain on leaves

witness to the storms of selfish people

who mistook your good self

your easy loving nature

an opportunity to put the angry boot Β in the race

letting you bleed all over the place

seeping into dark and dirty gutters

you tiny remnant of Β human grace

I’m haunted by your shadow

your essence in the killing dark

oh how I am haunted my sweet love

by your face

always by your face

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

8 thoughts on “Your Face”

  1. So delicate. This emotion you pour into your work is so touching and, I know myself, not an easy task to soak that into other people’s consciousness.

    1. Thank you Evelyn hugs The header is actually a photograph of my great grandparents, Albert and Katherine, taken when they were just twenty. I’m pleased you like it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

