Locomotion

We

move in the chugging lurching manner of a train on tracks

belching our half hearted locomotion sighs into the air

looking out windows

passing leafy trees and green summer lawns

suburban Jewelery cars parked in front

of houses with lives compartmentalized into formation

passing passing passing

We

the endless listless travellers

yawning ourselves to the halfway point

clickety clacking toward that ever elusive station

where we receive the ultimate kiss of welcoming delight

on lips too often moist with tears and regret

and the expectations of strangers not met

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

16 thoughts on “Locomotion”

  1. I’m loving the pinpointed structure of your poems at the moment Val. They are so vocal and purposeful that – oh without sounding poncey – you just really feel comfortable and accompanied in them. That probably makes no sense – I know what I mean, haha. x

    1. Thank you Kiersty girl 🙂 I know what you are saying about the tone of my work lately. If I expand on this I would say it’s maturity and not giving as shit what anyone else thinks or says. As time passes, one becomes very adept at spotting the distractions that are designed to throw you off course and confuse your heart and mind. Whatever I am or whatever I’ve done, I own it, the good and the bad. I no longer want to get on that train because after all the years of my life I know every damn stop along the way, both who gets on and who gets off (both literally and figuratively) making the ride predictable and redundant. I have found my peace and it looks exactly like the face I see in the mirror everyday. If we live long enough and we do our passages with grace, we learn to love and respect that face with humility and understanding. 🙂

    1. I don’t know what it is about trains Maxine, but they often find their way into my writing. I’m glad you rode along on this train though and that you felt its movement in the reading.

    1. Thank you Adrian, and because you like it and you have a love for trains as do I, I’m giving you this poem. It belongs to you now! 🙂

    1. Thank you Evelyn, I tried to keep it a bit distant in the expression so your comment means a lot to me. 🙂

  2. I love this Val! I don’ t want any regrets when I get to the end of my journey if I can possibly help it. Funny how the older you become the faster the years fly by though… I must say I haven’t been bored with my life to the point of yawning the time away.

    1. I think the years flying by is the only downside to getting older. I’m fifty next year and I’m excited by it, that I’ve been here nearly half a century and more or less intact. Somehow I don’t think you will have any regrets Denise, you are a lovely person so I doubt there are many do overs for you my dear. My only regret is that I’ve given precious time and love to three people who didn’t love me in return but who certainly loved me loving them! The coming decade belongs to my daughter and myself and the freedom is going to feel wonderful. 🙂

    1. Thanks Gabe, I just hope my life ends on a good line. If not, at least it won’t be dull. Of course I like dull. Dull is good and I appreciate all the dullness of being dull now. 😉

  3. Nice poem Val…though .i think we are, and have always been, at that station, each in one’s own way…but sometimes kind of mess with strangers and motion 🙂 …just my thought,

    wishes,
    devika

    1. That’s it exactly Devika! We are at that station, then off again in one continuous start and stop. Until we figure it out and never get on the train again because we’ve found the right station. I don’t think there will ever be a station for me though so I’ll just stand off to the side of the tracks and wave at the passengers while glancing occasionally at the people kissing on the platform. 🙂

Leave a Reply

