Just In Case There Is Ever Any Doubt

about Sylvia Plath’s courage and brilliance, listen to this then attempt to write something half as good. I will tell you, she is the bar by which I have always measured my own ability to move the letters into position, bending phrases with some shocking bloody grazes that impressed me for a few seconds before I had to admit that sadly my work is sterile in comparison. I will go to my grave without even coming close to her flow of graceful language that always dignified the emotional gutter we all must visit at least once; the gutter that devoured her for exposing its core truth for us.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

8 thoughts on “Just In Case There Is Ever Any Doubt”

    1. She truly is my ideal Gabe. I’m happy you took the time to listen to the poem, I felt is was important to post it, as father’s day is near in Canada and I have a beauty of a poem and a photo to post.

      1. Sorry, Sylvia Plath… where was my brain, I wonder… Will read and listen to some of her poetry as soon as time permits. Like what I found. 🙂

      2. The Bell Jar and Ariel are brilliant Denise and I hope you read them! She is truly a woman’s poet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

