The Wren

I ran that day for all I was worth

skinned knees and hard breath

like a draught horse heaving up hill

load shifting under burden and whip lash

until the reckoning of an angry sun took revenge on me

heat slapping me into the cool earth

but I could still hear my name being whispered

a sweet song harmonious

in the tiny heartbeat of a wren peering at me from a cedar tree

a minor chord Β in a symphony of all souls

yearning for one small kiss from god

the gentle power touch

an act to bestow some truth that makes the difference

between desire for breath

and the relief of death

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

4 thoughts on “The Wren”

  1. The single bird – they can often just make you sit and think, stop. You prompted me to write a poem about one of Europe’s most notorious birds and I’ll post it one day. But just wanted to tell you – you’re an inspiration. x

    1. WOW Kiersty! If I’ve inspired you to write I’m damn flattered girl. πŸ™‚ I look forward to reading it when you decide to post it. Notorious bird eh? Sounds intriguing!

    1. Thank you Gabe, this one was for the mothers who read my blog and it appears I’ve done it correctly. πŸ™‚ *Doing a little happy dance to celebrate getting the writing right*

Leave a Reply

