Dream Poem #7

I stood transfixed

the hall was long

the house was big

the rooms were many

up and down I traipsed

mesmerized by size and immensity

this was a big extra illusion!

but something was brewing downstairs

in the old soldier’s sitting room

I thought myself there

beside the old man in the chair

so tired he asked to be moved to the sofa

it was a soft and reliable comfort

when he started to doze I covered him in the sea blanket by the fire

it was time to step outside just then

I knew it was because the grass was green and shiny

but when I stood on the trapezoid lawn

the twenty windows in a row were covered

each with just one

Royal Dalton Barbie doll!

all in colours primary and constant

they had frozen in the night

tiny hands clinging to the window screens

faces contorted screaming to be let in

I placed my finger on each one in turn

so cold they were

but my hand gave them life

and a breath was caught

each time my index finger brushed their tiny backs

as I worked my way down the frozen bodies

something unanticipated happened

they transformed into kittens

that I gathered into my arms

with the now warm, glowing and breathing Royal Dalton Barbie dolls

I dropped them in an umbrella stand by the door

because I was wanted upstairs with the premier!

I was up front and in his face

telling him he really needed to go the The Pines Golf and Country Club to see how it should be done

he just laughed at me

I just looked down at him

realizing he was very short, very very short indeed!

but din from the banquet crowd shrunk my words

so tiny I diminished into a sore neck

that woke me to a 7:14 am morning

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

10 thoughts on “Dream Poem #7”

  1. a very active dream life — and i very much liked the subconscious drama in this one, Val πŸ™‚
    wishes,
    devika

    1. Those Royal Dalton Barbie dolls are still with me Devika lol It felt so real and in a weird way it still does! I hope I NEVER dream of those damn dolls again, it was that creepy bringing them back to life lol I’m happy you enjoyed another trip through my subconsious. πŸ™‚

      1. You sound interesting…i wouldn’t know…never ever held a doll to the time i can remember….never been a “doll – kind” πŸ™‚

        wishes,
        devika

      2. I didn’t really have a doll as a kid either Devika…I was too poor. We had nothing really but I do remember a plastic whistle and a rubber ball. πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks scribbla πŸ™‚ When I write these they are exactly as I dreamed them, so you get the full tilt boogie of my subconscious drama lol

  2. That is a doozy Val – hahahaha – I won’t even try to analyze that one πŸ˜‰ Funny, but the bit about the Barbie dolls coming to life, reminded me of your Granny children’s book and the doodles who need the pencil (to finish them off).

    1. The fact that you remember that particular scene from the Granny book is so damn flattering for me as a writer. HUGS Gabe, I needed to read something encouraging like this today. This one is beyond bizarre I agree lol

Leave a Reply

