The Guest

Does your shadow loom so large

it swallows those who come after?

Are a dead man’s shoes impossible to fill

from the point of view of those who live

on a diet of comparison

while walking on broken glasss

and the ashes of their last attempt

but fall from grace I shall

behind the garden wall

where you and I discuss your very visible invisibility

in the silent contemplation of our significant past

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

14 thoughts on “The Guest”

    1. Thank you bisheriger 🙂 This was one of the few that I satisfied me without much revision. The fourth and fifth lines actually came to me first and I built the rest upon them. I hope you visit again!

    1. BINGO! Ms Gabe you are slam bang on again! This is exactly the effect I was trying for, but then my life is Wuthering Heights anyway therefore I hardly felt the creative stretch.

    1. Well Evelyn, some people have no idea how to live unless they are sizing themselves up against another. I used to think it was a competitive thing but now that I’m old and wise lol I see it for what it is, insecurity. Not that I’ve ever been insecure *cough* lol By the way girl, you’ve been writing some kick ass stuff over at your blog!

      1. You are more than welcome. I just calls em as I reads em girl. You have some serious talent. No shit!

  1. Very thoughtful poem Val…they say life can only be understood backwards, while it is to be lived forwards…and it is said nature doesn’t allow repetition…it ought to make the onward journey thrilling, but often we restrict ourselves with values gained from the past? — ofcourse i am not talking of any immediate past here….the long history that comes back on us, for no fault of ours,

    may be it is taking that into consideration most philosophers ask us to focus on the present? may be,

    wishes,
    devika

    1. As always, i went with where the poem took me….but on a second reading, it could be a love poem with a slight remorse beautifully expressed –and there could be no need for that, life could still be beautiful and graceful …that’s feeling i get, and i liked the second reading 🙂

      wishes,
      devika

    2. I like that Devika, “Life can only be understood backwards while it is to be lived forwards.” I believe that we repeat the past because of our addiction to fear and sometimes emotional laziness. Sometimes it is also because an event and it’s subsequent repercussions have been imprinted on us at an early age but when we become self aware, there is no longer any reason to repeat the pattern if it is negative. This is where personal liberty can be found. I’ve found it. 🙂 Thank you for such a thoughtful response to my poem. Your intelligence is always so appreciated here, I want you to know this Devika. hugs

  2. This takes me to a place of deep disturbances. Not of my own, but a close personal friend of mine. It so describes her relationship with her mother.
    “but fall from grace I shall

    behind the garden wall” – this is such powerful imagery.

    1. Thank you scribbla, I love that it made you feel something. 🙂 Like I said before, it is always my aim to insert feelings into the reader. This poem is about someone real, someone I knew and loved who in death casts a shadow over my other relationships. It’s not exactly negative but it is a fact I’ve had to come to terms with. I suppose it’s that my experience with the deceased made me so strong inside that I don’t need anyone and not being emotionally weak also adds to the solitary life I lead. 🙂 I guess we play the hand we’re dealt then die with out boots on and our backs to wall, one eye on the bartender and one eye on the door.

Leave a Reply

