Flirt

They are the best thing you never had

a ball of fire streaking through your hemisphere

soaring in and out of the chambers of your pink blushing heart

They are roses and champagne set alight

with a wink and a smile

Perpetuating hope

instigating desire

they

mesmerize

tantalize

hypnotize

scandalize

cut you down to size

when they get bored and walk away

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

22 thoughts on “Flirt”

  1. “they

    mesmerize

    tantalize

    hypnotize

    scandalize

    cut you down to size

    when they get bored and walk away”
    woohooo!!!
    I can hear a baseline, feel a drum.
    delicious!!!

    1. Ya know Evelyn, I never thought of it but I can see a beat poetry vibe in this now! You are a very observant poet and reader. Thank you. 🙂

  2. Yeah, gotta admit I like being flirted with on occasion. It definitely reminds me I’m alive!!!
    “They are roses and champagne set alight” I would love to see that imagery on film. Wow!

    1. That is such a complimentary thing to say about my words scribble…stop yer flirtin’. 😉 Seriously, that is the first time anyone has ever seen my words as something moving and real as on film. Wow! Thank you. 🙂

    1. Thank you Adrian. It makes me very happy that you have come back to read and comment. hugs 🙂

    1. Oh yeah Kiersty, those are the colours. There are two types of flirting: playful kibbitzing around and then there is the emotional fuckery flirting, also known as being a tease. playful kibbitzing is a socially important and in a way it’s the extension of child play into adulthood. Emotional fuckery flirting is a selfish past time usually indulged in by emotionally immature people. 🙂 That is the official definition from Val’s abridged dictionary of human behaviour. Rock on sista. 🙂 hugs

  3. btw, just realised….someone told me if i was serious about writing (my own stuff, other than the reporting and ghost writing i do for my livelihood) i should be leaving blogs – but i find this place very interesting and stimulating — how is it for you?

    not many professional writers are open with their opinion, and some others have very diverse opinion…just asking, because from several of your posts i get a feeling you have strong feelings about it — or is it just my feeling…if you wouldn’t want to share, just forget it, and leave the question, Val 🙂

    wishes,
    devika

    1. I love your question Devika and it pleases me to answer it! Think of my blog as my virtual living room where the door is always open. When other writers drop in to read and comment, we are meeting up as writers and also after time as friends. Writers need to commiserate with one another or they don’t develop as artists. The relationships we share here morale booster in a profession that can be very lonely and disheartening when the rejections come rolling in. As for blogging having a negative impact on a career, it is actually important to have your work and face out there via blogging. If you only blog and never write, I mean if it in any way interferes with your creative output, it is more about procrastination than the blog. In actual fact, this blog keeps me disciplined and it is because of this blog that I’ve been able to build and display my platform which, as you know is vital to being taken seriously by a publisher. I will always write for this blog Devika, because in addition to the benefit to building my career, I’ve met the most incredible artists here who are priceless to me as both fellow artists and friends. You are on that list. 🙂 HUGS

      1. Oh, that was a nice reply to have…and very agreeable.

        But the fact is that with my job, i presently can’t afford to bring any more discipline or find more time for my own writing (through i do it in bits and pieces)…with my writing assignments, which sometimes border monotony, and working from my home, i thought it good be interacting with like minded people and to keep me in good spirits — it definitely benefits me from my thoughts getting redundant… may be once i retire from other jobs, perhaps as you say, i’ll be able to work organised with blogs and writing,

        Thank you Val ….your reply was quite reinforcing 🙂

        wishes,
        devika

  4. Hi my friend val, long time no see (I like that expression) I loved the poem, it really feels like that but then,
    it is all just a bleff like a ballon that sudenly losses all the air, coincidentally it just happened to me with someone
    it lasted just one week dough intense I was so happy then, now just a little sadness remains.
    Take lots of care.

    1. Mariana!!! HUGSHUGSHUGS I’ve missed you so much! I’m sorry you met up with one of these human comets but you have a very healthy and sensible approach to it all. I’m glad you had the one week and in time we always learn why we meet the people we do, even if it is for a brief time. So much love to you Mariana, please don’t be such a stranger around here okay?

    1. Your reaction Brandon is exactly the reaction these people inspire. It’s good to see you again and I see you have a new blog so I’ll be putting you back on my blog roll again. I hope everything is good for you in your part of this crazy world and I send you hugs.

  5. Yeah either way, that’s what it is…and seeing a poem from you without a tag! why call them flirts ?…one gets bored and throws it on another….among friends, we say, ‘bored? Go Hang Yourself!’….infact it’s my mother who gave me the idea…as children when we would say we were bored…she would say go climb the coconut tree and let free your hands, gone will be your boredom! (guess you know what it is like….ofcourse she was very jovial 🙂

    Anyway, Happy Mother’s Day, Val 🙂

    wishes,
    devika

    1. Happy Mother’s day to you too Devika and thank you. If I am to be honest, I’m a flirt but the good kind not the manipulating kind. I flirt with everyone and yes jovial is a good word for it. Spreading the joy and seeing others laugh is the goal, not teasing to be praised and adored. The latter is really a type of vanity. I despise vanity, I do however adore flirting, the good kind. 🙂

      1. Oh okay…i just would call it social interaction…and as social animals we cannot do without interacting with people…

        and on being manipulative or about vanity — i don’t think those are factors that would build good relationships/friendships in the long run….no body loves to be a subject of manipulation — but may be it could be just our perception of another…it’s okay as far as it doesn’t affect the parties involved,

        thank you for the wishes, Val 🙂

        wishes,
        devika

    1. Thank you Gabe hugs Oh, I’m on a bitter betty bender lately about the world but the fog has nearly lifted so too shall my poems reflect that

Leave a Reply

