Please Read This Post!

And follow this link: http://kriswrites.com/2011/04/20/the-business-rusch-royalty-statements-update/

Why? Because if you are traditionally published by one of the big six publishing houses or if you are pursuing that path you need to read what Kristine Kathryn Rusch has to say about royalties and ebook sales. Something has been hidden very slyly in the sales margins of the royalty statements of authors and it’s pretty damn ugly.  It’s despicable but not entirely surprising given the degree of change within the business of selling books but it is another reason to be discouraged with the big six and to support both Indie and self publishing.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

17 thoughts on “Please Read This Post!”

  1. It must be very disturbing for those writers. You would assume that calculating the number of sales of books, either hard copy or e-versions would be easy, but apparently not, especially for ebooks which appear to require a formula rather than counting – they better get their act together quickly.

    1. I think it was intentional Gabe. If anything, the electronic recording of sales would be faster and more accurate. I agree, they had better catch up before more writers catch on to what they are up to. This is a dirty thing that has been discovered and it’s very discouraging for artists.

  2. As you know, I lost my patience with mainstream publishers and much prefer the self-publishing route now. I’ve managed to make more for myself and provide it cheaper to the reader. How does that work? Oh well, my job is just to entertain and if I do that then I’m a happy bunny. Publishers are panicking big time about the amount of people self-publishing. What really needs to happen is that one of these ‘celebrities’ with their life story need to go it alone and really sock it to them. However, the reason that little people like us don’t get our moral share is because those celebrities are the lions. Hey ho, on we go.

    1. The agents are beginning to look a but tainted now too Kiersty. I don’t like the middle man idea to begin with and for a long time I avoided getting on the treadmill, it just felt icky and wrong. I’ve left the agent search for a while for a host of reasons but one incident in particular last week gave me a bad feeling: I visited an agent’s blog. I’d been visiting, reading posts and leaving comments when I felt the urge and although the comments are moderated, she always posted mine even if I disagreed…that is until the other day. She started to go off the rails the day before with a post comparing reality shows like Dragon’s Den and Shark Tank with publishing and a woman who had appeared on Dragon’s Den (the Canadian version) left a comment. This particular woman had a trapeze/travelling circus business she wanted to expand thus she appeared on the show to get investment bucks from the dragons. When it looked like she wasn’t going to get any money she started to do the weak woman weepy thing and got some cash from a guy on the panel who bought into her teary act. The next day the agent had this woman do a guest blog and this woman actually made a point about her tears getting her the money. Well, you know me Kiersty, I left a comment about it, stating that if she went into a bank to ask for money and started the weak woman weepies they wold offer her tissues or suggest a counselor but she sure as hell wouldn’t get any money. Naturally, this agent didn’t post my comment. if this is the type of person reading queries and manuscripts sent in by writers, then no wonder the shelves are jammed with substandard shit that is dumbing down the population faster than shows like Dragon’s Den. Sigh, just another day in the life of the hopeful starving artist.

    1. nope, not this one. She is a very cool rez girl with a bluesy and unique sound. I like her, thank you Gilles-Marie. 🙂

      1. lol, i don’t feel that “crazy wind” sounds depressed, i’m just listening to the move of the wind in the song^^

    1. They aren’t working for me, those links. Sheesh! What are the songs and I’ll go listen? How is Easter going Gilles-Marie? 🙂

    1. Yes, I know Cindy. Me too. 😦 They should have known better than to do this to people who wield words like soldiers wield bayonets, especially since the advent of the internet and blogging. We are much more connected now and news like this spreads like a forest fire.

Leave a Reply

