The Versatility Factor

Last Tuesday, poet, writer and blogger extraordinaire Gabrielle Bryden bestowed upon me and seven other ladies the Versatile Blogger Award. The conditions of this award are to pass it along to seven others you deem versatile as well as compiling a list of seven facts about yourself.  What follows is my list and below this a list of seven bloggers I find to be particularly brilliant at wearing a number of bloggin hats.

The Seven Things

1. I’ve nearly drown twice
2. I’ve saved the lives of two people, my husband Dave who eventually did succeed in taking his own life at 38 and my precious daughter who is very much alive and beyond remarkable.
3. People either love me or hate my guts. No one is ambivalent, much to my chagrin but at least I know where I stand even if I don’t understand the intense dislike.
4. I have lived in a variety of places throughout my life: a convent, a foster home, a motel, a car, a battered women’s shelter, an Indian Reservation, a homeless shelter, a city apartment, a basement apartment, a farm, an inner city ghetto row house, a cabin in the woods, a rat and cockroach infested tenement, a tent and finally quite a number of rental houses. I think I should go into real estate what do you think?  😉
5. I’ve witnessed and experienced a great deal of tragedy, but still I breathe! Yes I know, even I’m amazed everyday but I take it as a sign that I do indeed have a purpose.
6. I believe in reincarnation completely and without doubt.
7. I have type O negative blood.
My Seven Recipients (all wonderful writers and spectacular women)
1. Lisa
4. Gwen
Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

12 thoughts on “The Versatility Factor”

  1. Oh my goodness! I have to do this?? Haha… but I’m so horribly boring. Okay, I will pop some chocolate in and get to work 😉 You’re a peach Val, and your blog is intelligent, feisty, informative and damned well all round class. x

    1. lol Kiersty, Surely you jest, I don’t think ‘boring’ could describe you or your life! I will however encourage chocolate popping and sharing your seven with us. 😉 You are the berries and you know what I think and feel about your work and your blog, nuff said. 😉

  2. Thanks for participating Val 🙂 I’ve been away and just got back – will catch up on missed posts 😉 You can pass the award on to as many people as you want I think (a bit like Chinese whispers – everyone changes the rules slightly – but who cares anyway). You have led a fascinating life Val – I’m sure your book will be published one day.

    1. I hope you had a fantastic holiday Gabe! 🙂 There is nothing like getting away for a while on an adventure to rediscover your love of the small precious moments. I’m still plugging that book Gabe and I’m also reviewing books for Her Circle magazine. I’ve got two books of poetry nearly ready to send out as well so I’m trying like hell to move this thing closer to where I want and need it to be. I’m still waiting to hear from 25 agents and when those rejections come in I’ll start another list of 30 to query. Sigh, it’s tiring and disillusioning but I’m a tenacious broad so I’m bound to wear someone down. lol

  3. For what it is worth I do not hate your guts and am very fond of your presence on the net! It makes the few moments I take from work or life to check your blog out quite enjoyable.

    1. I’m extremely happy that you don’t hate my guts Dave! 🙂 Thank you for enjoying whatever I post and for always being a wonderful and inspirational friend to me. You are some bad ass coolness your own self my brother.

    1. I’m so happy you visited these ladies Evelyn. They are all brilliant and every time I read their work I learn something new. Yes, he did. It was in 1999 after many suicide attempts. He suffered from Schizophrenia brought on by the use of PCP. He was seventeen at the time and it ruined his life. I miss him still but the wound isn’t as raw now and in retrospect I can see that my presence in his life was pointless anyway. I loved him deeply but he was suffering and I couldn’t take it away. Actually, I’ve been seeking agent representation for my memoir and Dave is an important part of the book but so far I’ve not encountered anyone courageous enough to take it on, nor do I expect I ever will. Given the grim climate for selling anything that isn’t fast food for the head, it’s highly unlikely anyone but a few of my friends will have ever read it. Sigh.

      1. I dont know if any of us can know if we were truly pointless.
        Everything happens for a reason.
        Im so jealous you have a book written!
        Thats great. I would love a sample…

      2. I can do that Evelyn, I can post a sample tomorrow on the blog if you like. Please, don’t be jealous, the material for both the book of poetry and the memoir was something I had to endure and survive. You will understand when I post the sample. I have come to more or less believe that we do have a purpose and the proof of that is love. If we didn’t there would be absolutely no need for love. 🙂 Thank you for coming back and commenting, I love your work and I think you are quite a talented lady Evelyn.

Leave a Reply

