Cognition in Two

I wasn’t all that bad you know

just beyond my time

a dreamer being led away

on stairways made of rhyme

You may however disagree

and have another view

of how to write rebellious lines

I leave it up to you

We are half of each

or two sides to a story

if one should fall then we both do

that is the price of glory

So breathe your moments into light

the giving makes you matter

to take is not a harmless thing

a fragile heart can shatter

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

6 thoughts on “Cognition in Two”

  1. I wasnā€™t all that bad you know
    just beyond my time
    a dreamer being led away
    on stairways made of rhyme
    You may however disagree
    and have another view
    of how to write rebellious lines
    I leave it up to you

    So breathe your moments into light
    to take is not a harmless thing
    a fragile heart can shatter.

    Val. I really really am sorry there is no Love button somewhere over the universe I can press on and display this one.

    1. WOW Dhyan! Thank you. When I wrote it I was having one of my ‘misunderstood’ days when no one seems to hear what I’m saying. So, I wrote it be clearer. Being misunderstood and/or underestimated has been part of my problem in life. You are a very sweet guy šŸ˜‰ to appreciate it so much. šŸ™‚

      1. I think almost anyone can relate to this poem. At least I can, very much.
        and I really love the way it come out of my lips when reading it loud.

        You are doing good with your life Val, very good

      2. I’m happy you found common ground with this poem. šŸ™‚ I also hope I am doing good with my life because when I finally take my last breath all that pain had better not have been in vain. :0 I guess it’s like this Dhyan: you give it and then you walk away and if someone chooses to take it up you have succeeded but if they don’t take it up then you have still succeeded simply for the effort and the failure their’s alone.

  2. Full of stuff, and it flowed under the eyes.
    Maybe you are of your time, rebellion is needed now.
    This line
    ‘to take is not a harmless thing
    a fragile heart can shatter’
    I wonder if it applies ot gifts offered and think you would make the exception.

    1. I may make that exception Stafford but not often have I encountered a gift without an unspoken reciprocity attached. Yes I know, I’m jaded but that’s part of my charm. :0 I like that you think I may be of my time now, god knows I’ve flipped the bird to some heavy duty people within the past ten years but I’m growing weary of it all. Nothing ever changes and I’m becoming dour with the effort dear Stafford.

Leave a Reply

