It is

I don’t believe in romantic vision

or knee buckles in a love collision

It’s a mutual sexual nuclear fission

a heat exchange brought on by lonely indecision

a sort of connecting with precision

that often ends in cruel derision

 

 

 

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

24 thoughts on “It is”

    1. Thank you for appreciating my ditty of vitriol scribbla. I’m not always this harsh…sometimes I’m much worse! πŸ˜‰ Your own writing is intriguing and I hope you drop in again.

    1. Thank you Evelyn πŸ™‚ Oh, I’ve had that knee buckle enough times to know anything that dramatic cannot and should not last! Oh, but while it’s happening it is the only thing that matters.

    1. Thank you Adrian. πŸ™‚ It’s damn hard to find something new to rhyme with fission lol I liken the derision I mention to a cold steel door slamming shut. Endings are tough but they are vital to beginnings.

    1. Excuse me Dhyan, ehem, but are you saying I’m contrary because if you’re saying I’m contrary and like to disagree then I have to disagree with you on that! LOLOLOLOLOL πŸ˜‰

  1. ‘… a mutual sexual nuclear fission

    … that often ends in cruel derision.’

    How true these words can be. Sometimes, I think, an arranged marriage (for the right reasons, ie not money or power) or a marriage of convenience is more likely to last. Hormones are so unpredictable, hahaha!

    1. While I’m not an advocate of arranged marriages I do agree with you Denise that perhaps other more practical considerations should go into the contract of betrothal that have nothing to do with romantic nonsense that last about as long as it takes to blow out the candles on the table. There must be a more balanced view and I’ve always felt that living in separate houses keeps many relationships intact! :0

    1. Life treats me like crap D but at least it treats me like something! πŸ˜‰ It’s good to see you again and I like that you like my romantic cynicism as well as my interior blog design. πŸ™‚ I’m dropping by your blog later to read some more of your brilliance my friend. πŸ™‚

    1. Absolutely Kiersty and doubly horrifying when a child is considered an asset to divide. I knew you would ‘get’ this and it’s good to not feel so alone in a world filled with wolves. πŸ˜‰ That being said, I’m considering the notion that perhaps women should view men the way men view women thus equalizing the entire gender universe. lol I’m glad it helped the achey feel less harsh but do not forget the power of chocolate as well! hugs

    1. Yeah Dhyan, I laugh my arse off too, at the thought of love and hearts and flowers and devotion. Utter nonsense that always leads to misery.

      1. Well, I think my comment, or my laughter if you wish, have been misunderstood.
        I like your poem very much. For me, the way you presented the topic, with these rhymes, gives it, in my eyes and voice, a rather light weight to contrast the way you chose to address this topic. I like it.
        O, I don’t think you and I are so far apart as you think. I am more down to earth than that though I wish,in many ways, I wouldn’t.
        I believe in love though I am well aware it isn’t enough and perhaps it isn’t even the most important in that sense. Flowers are good, can say nothing against them. Wait. They bring bees. Flowers. Don’t like them. And devotion is everything. E V E R Y T H I N G. Let me rephrase it. DEVOTION IS EVERYTHING.
        I have no little clue what I wrote this story about or what is the message behind it. I just wrote it. I don’t even remember how it ends. Look at it as you wish.
        Yes, too often than would be good, love and relationships, any kind of them, are nothing. It doesn’t have to be this way. And kitsch is kitsch and can be an ugly thing and so can be flowers and trees and heart’s dance. But not devotion. O no. This I will not be able to say.

      2. LOL Oh Dhyan, my dear, don’t worry about me misunderstanding your laughter because I didn’t. πŸ™‚ I was trying to be tongue in cheek and a bit sarcastic with this and you understood it. Your story was wonderful by the way and I do agree with you about devotion. I don’t think we are supposed to feel that devotion for everyone nor they for us. I think it is something unique to individuals who are somehow in tune at a soul level. If that sounds hokey or flakey I don’t mean for it to be. I’ve been very devoted to certain people, a devotion that nearly cost me my life and in one case my sanity along with it. I don’t recommend this complete loyalty and devotion for the faint of heart, it often leaves scars on the soul that are permanent reminders of the cost of such love. Devotion is love, it is the proof of love and you know it’s the real deal when you don’t require it to be returned. It isn’t romantic, it is divine and transcends suffering and death. Selfish people never feel it and that is why they are so sad, they live empty lives, their purpose a vacuum of ego. Okay, I can see I’ve had another one of my diatribes lol I feel you know all this anyway so it’s redundant but it feels good to discuss it at any rate Dhyan. I don’t often do this with anyone much anymore, but such is life eh?

Leave a Reply

