The Best Decade of the Twentieth Century

I’ve always been more or less obsesssed with the Jazz Age. It started when I was ten and has never left me. Lately I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a new novel set smack dab in the middle of all that smoking, drinking, dancing and speakeasy era. I love the music, fashion, slang and movies of the 1920’s so immersing myself in the past will hardly be a chore. After all, a writer has to be accurate with regard to those devilish details.

I’m dropping three videos for Sunday to show you just how fantastic it was back then when women got the vote, cut their hair, starting smoking, drank gin and burned their corsets. The world has never been the same. Ā šŸ˜‰ Ā I think we may be due for a new Jazz Age, whaddya think?

And of course, what were the twenties without Hollywood and the women of the silver screen?

You can’t do the Roaring Twenties without Ms. Bessie Smith!

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

16 thoughts on “The Best Decade of the Twentieth Century”

    1. They truly were Adrian and as with everything in life nothing can be sustained at that level for long and so it all fell apart in the crash of ’29. But while it lasted it was damn fantastic! šŸ™‚

  1. I adore those roaring twenties!
    The fashion, the dancing, the men … and the books! The Great Gatsby is a book I can read over and over and over again.

    1. Everything about that era is fascinating to me as well Tracey and it pleases me that you liked this post. I’ve been over to your site and you have such a beautiful and intelligent blog! I do hope you come back again and at some point in the near future I’m going to post a short story set in the jazz age. I don’t think I could manage even a novella but I can do at least 10,000 words of fiction for here. šŸ™‚

    1. Hey Brad, long time no see! Yep, nondescript and jazzy. Clara Bow might show up and have a fist fight with James Cagney and afterward Tallulah Bankhead might play some poker with the Algonquin Round Table, losing horribly to Dorothy Parker because after all, you can lead a horticulture but you can’t make her think lol It will be funny and a send up of an era that didn’t take itself too seriously. I hope all is going well on your trek around Oz and that you are having fun. šŸ™‚

  2. Lovely pic illustrating the 20’s fashions. I remember my mother showing me the Charleston which entailed a great deal of leg kicking. And the recording of Bessie Smith – I love jazz! That was a lovely part of history between world wars…

    1. I’m so happy you liked this Denise. šŸ™‚ Yes, they did a lot with their legs back then lol Your mother sounds priceless! I’m a jazz and blues fan too and there are not singers, torch or crooners anymore, there is no soul in music and it’s sad.

    1. Will do Gabe! I’m thinking I may incorporate some famous people in the story but the main character will be a nondescript person. šŸ˜‰

    1. Oh god, the hair Evelyn! My own curly frizzy hairmare makes me wicked jealous of everyone’s crowning glory. I think I coveted Louise Brooks bob the most though. That broad was damn gorgeous.

  3. As a jazz fan of all the jazz eras, I really miss it. Unfortunately about mid century we gave the gramophone keys to the kids and still do, so instead of Sinatra and Sarah we get Speers and go Ga Ga!

    1. Something has gone horribly wrong Stafford and I think it boils down to aggression and joylessness. It’s all about being angry or getting laid with no room for the complex emotions that lead up to those two. People have become emotional fools and the the arts is a good barometer for our collective social health. Lady GaGa is a manufactured product that panders to the base aspect of young people. She and her ilk don’t have to sing or have any talent, all that is required is to gyrate, display some disgusting behavior and spew meaningless doublespeak at press conferences. It all amounts to a large stinking pile of crap. It will get better, we are due for a revolt in all forms of art and this little thing we are on right now is the catalyst for that change. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

