Strange Brew

The poor Mad Hatter

was just a casualty

of a party gone horribly wrong

sandwiches made of pointing fingers

and a strange brew too strong for the feeble migratory birds

of a feather who wrote several letters

inviting the ravens to tea

but the ides of the March Hare captured the riddles

left by the grinning Cheshire cat

who gave them to Alice to take with her to number eight

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

16 thoughts on “Strange Brew”

    1. I’ll do some more of these Kiersty about different stories like Alice etc. I like the imagery and in a way most of that stuff is a type of poetry I think. Thank you for enjoying this! It means a lot to me. πŸ™‚

  1. Ah, Val, I wish I could do this – and you do it so well! I still have to learn to let my imagination run wild… I can feel the reins holding me back and don’t know how to cut them. But reading this, called out to my soul…

    1. I am inhibited sometimes too Denise, but then I remember the nonsense inner talk of my childhood and adolescence and the noose of conformity is loosened. πŸ™‚

  2. I would like to see what political messages were behind the nonsense!
    It is too crazily brilliant not to be an alegory for maybe a king of primer minister of the day!
    I looked up Wicki but left this to show how wrong I was. It is all obout logic and mathematics (with a hint it sends up contemporaty mathemantical fashion). Anyway Val, your charming poem brought Alice back for me!

    1. You dear Stafford, are a smarty pants! It is indeed inspired by the political climate of the day, so I leave it up to you to decipher who these characters represent. πŸ˜‰

  3. sometimes we ourselves are the mad hatters…left with no hat, just mad…good reading, Val πŸ™‚
    and earlier dream poem,

    wishes,
    devika

    1. “eft with no hat, just mad” — i was bascially speaking about myself there..no offence, Val πŸ™‚

      devika

      1. No offence taken Devika πŸ™‚ I relish my partially mad reputation and I feel all creative people are bit on the fringe anyway.

    2. Thank you Devika, and yes sometimes I feel like the Mad Hatter and I have a lot in common, especially the old I get! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Evelyn πŸ™‚ Alice is so chock full of metaphors that it is an almost hypnotic story that stays with you forever. Even now, some thirty five years since I first read it, I still discover new meaning in each event in the story. I would go as far as to say it is a work of genius with so many double meanings and hidden layers.

      1. I agree Evelyn it is one of those stories. Perhaps the secret to be gleaned is to not get too attached to this side of the dirt and thus avoid the mayhem of it all. I don’t know that for sure but lately I’ve been leaning that way.

    1. Thank you Adrian πŸ™‚ How about this for an alternate ending: who gave them to Alice to take with her to the next chapter
      in pieces of eight
      guarded by ravens who lived at the sea

Leave a Reply

