The Lake

you write

you share

you rip

you tear

and when the bits are strewn

like blood and guts and sinew

you realize your first mistake

was setting the damn thing at the lake!

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

12 thoughts on “The Lake”

    1. LOL yes Gabrielle, Johnny Depp and the lake lol I did indeed get a poem from it but that story was going so well but I think I’ll put it in the mountains then take it to the lake after where I will kill off one of the characters, probably the one who caused the inconsistency that ruined the lake setting.

  1. What a quandary you seem to be in. Do rivers not run into and out of lakes? Perhaps you can draw a little map? Seriously, put it aside and inspiration will come when you least expect it. Hopefully…

    1. I think perhaps some rivers do run into lakes and that poses something interesting now that you’ve mentioned it adeeyoyo! 🙂

  2. Haha, when I first read this I thought you left something at the lake. Then I saw your tag. I get it now…that’s what happens when I spend too much time working on homework. The ol’ brain turns to mush. Anyway, good luck with your story and hope you can keep the tides at bay! 🙂

    1. Thanks Lisa. 🙂 I’m sure I’ve left something at some lake somewhere in my life and we’ll add this story to that collection of items. Homework? Do tell honeybee, what are you studying?

    1. The mountains eh? As it happens Adrian, I’m more familiar than I’d like to be with the Cascades in Washington state but since I’m on that bender with my memoir I may as well take advantage and give the characters another go. Maybe I’ll have them braving a forest fire on a narrow mountain pass, a place and environment with absolutely no water at all! lol When it’s done I’ll post it. 🙂

  3. lakes be holdin’ monsters tharr. But one man’s lake is another man’s pond.

    hahaha… even I don’t understand myself. But I understand this poem. And my personal lake was the high street. Fact is stranger than fiction it seems.

    1. It is indeed Kiersty, it is indeed. My life proves that. lol I wrote a short story not long ago and when I was finished I realized that it started at a lake and somewhere along the line it was a freaking river. DO NOT ask me how the hell that happened but it seems to me one of the characters liked a current when they went swimming or some such nonsense and then the lake became a memory. The problem was I’d mentioned this lake and the environment enough times that is screwed up the entire story so rippety rip rip and tearity tear tear and now you have a poem. 😉 I am so not writing that stupid story again and I’m off water completely, creatively speaking that is.

Leave a Reply

