Ire

As I approach this solitary shore

I will remember those things

like the rush of wind against my youthful cheek

intrepid sprinter

running from the brink

of sweet escapes into the fading light

for it is you who sings the mockingbird into the night

insinuating cruel laughter into the deepest shadow of my fright

and now I mark the raging dawn

my best friend and fiercest foe

who shall strike the fatal blow?

 

 

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

13 thoughts on “Ire”

  1. I also thought I had mellowed with age (ala brandy) and chanced to come across an ex colleague whom I could not stand to talk with for more than five minutes flat. Initially I was fairly pleased to see her, but only a few minutes into the conversation I could hardly wait to get away!

    1. Some people just rub us this way, that way and the wrong way no matter how much time passes. I feel our initial reaction to a person is most often the truth and if we heed it we don’t need to feel any ire. I’m learning to follow my gut most of the time now.

  2. I’m a bit of a sop about these things. After the initial rush of hurt or anger, I just tend to let them float away. Someone once said to me ‘the more you are angry with them, the more you give them power.’ I say it to my kids now and although I don’t know how true it is, I feel such a relief when I let those feelings go and use them as life experiences instead. It has changed the way I interact with some, but with most I just go in wide eyed and full of expectation.
    Your poem here feels rightly desolate and stoic. You always manage to capture a mood and let it live with your words.

    1. I’ll let you in on something Kiersty, this poem was inspired by another woman, an advocate in the domestic violence shelter where I resided after my daughter was abducted. She betrayed my child and I as well as the entire premised of the spirit of a safe house but A. Knowing where my child was withheld from me and against her will and B. Communicating confidential information about the legal proceedings from my file back to the man who abused us and took my girl. They had a history regarding rehab and drugs from what I learned later so she felt she had to help her addict buddy. All the while she had the gloss of a magazine all over her fake smile. I was thinking of her when I wrote this and it definitely helped me expunge the betrayal. What bothers me of course is that this woman clearly doesn’t belong in a situation where the safety of women and children rely on that confidentiality. Thank you for seeing it as desolate stoicism, because that is exactly how it felt, like I had to keep my upper lip stiff while inside I had been gutted like a gullible fish.

  3. I’m with you Val re the forgiving thing – nobody crosses me and gets away with it – haha – and I can wait years for the right opportunity for revenge. Love the image of the sprinter running from the brink (wind in the face).

    1. Me too Gabe, years and years! There are those situations that are never rectified in this life, where the hurter gets away with it. I know this scenario well but I do what Ma did, I’ll outlive them and then I get even! πŸ˜‰ Hey, you use whatever ya got eh? I hope your weekend was full of good relaxing sleep and laughter too. hugs

      1. Sometimes the best revenge is living well (I think Seinfeld said that – haha) – yeah, if you wait long enough and they are a typical bastard than they are sure to come a cropper all of their own doing (and we don’t get to go to jail).

  4. a very straight thought, Val…as we age don’t we get beyond all that classifications as friends/foes… i think, time takes it all away, and only a goodwill remains for all –friend or foe…but i guess time itself is the friend and foe that gives us blows…Good to realise ‘fatal’ can only be once πŸ™‚

    wishes,
    devika

    1. Yes, it is good to know that fatal can only be once! As for time and friends and foes, all I can say is that time has shown me that sometimes those who appear to be friends are actually foes wearing a fake smile and that foes are always foes. I’m not a very forgiving person about serious transgressions that involve harm to those I love or that involve duplicity at a basic level. I think we are too permissive in the western world when it comes to crimes against the vulnerable. As a species, we human beings haven ‘t evolved much at all since we walked out of caves and stood upright. It’s sad to me. 😦

  5. An offhand comment, but I was just looking through your blogroll and noticed your music section for the first time – I was thrilled to see you have at two of my absolute favorite artists listed there: Aimee Mann and Tori Amos. Tori was my biggest writing influence for such a long time. I always knew you had fabulous taste in music, Ms. Val!

    1. Thank you Lisa πŸ™‚ My tastes are all over the place but I do like people who are different and who explore the boundaries of sound and emotion. Tori is beyond those boundaries and I also adore her. You have fabulous taste in music as well my dear!

    1. Then I hope those fives days are not filled with ire from frenemies Adrian! I think there are negative people who just make this life so much more difficult than it needs to be and they antagonize until you have to bare your fangs. lol Oh joy oh bliss, the thrills of work and life.

Leave a Reply

