Well, when you throw down…

with an Aussie like Gabriel Bryden, you’d better be on your game!  She has set up a counter challenge for me to write a poem using the word ‘globule’ but it has to be upbeat.  So dear poets, here is my feeble attempt, enjoy or grimace but when you do it, do it globularly. I know I know, there is no such word as globularly, sheesh!

Despot

There it was

gravitationally sound

perfectly round

across the bridge

atop the summit

of the centre point of focus

safe in its dominance

not a whiff of dissent in the air

a fat unflinching dictator standing alone

that is

until another sneeze sent it into atmospheric exile

a mere remnant of the globule it used to be

now just a despot without a nose

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

6 thoughts on “Well, when you throw down…”

  1. There are a lot of unsavoury things I could say about bogies. But best s’not. 😉 This is wonderful. Now my mind is running away with me about all the things I want to write about that are less than dinner table conversation. 🙂

    1. LOLOL Kiersty best s’not! I can’t wait to see the poem you create from this idea. I think poetry dealing with such things can be too underrated 😉

  2. That is brilliant and too funny – bwahahahahaha! So you haven’t got writers block at all 😉 I’m working on a farting poem – we could do a collection of disgusting bodily function poems (kids love them the best) – haha. Love ya Val 🙂

    1. OMG a farting poem! Bathroom humour was my family’s specialty, think Russell Brand…yeah, it was a wild childhood ride. lol Okay, you do the fart poem and I’ll follow it up with a barfing poem? Oh, this should be some fun stuff Gabe! 🙂 I was very bunged up creatively but then I heard a gauntlet drop and suddenly the muse was back 😉

      1. Those red thingies are Japanese Barberries that grow in Bowring Park here in St. John’s. I know this because Mr. Google is a good friend of mine who is my greatest supporter when it comes to preventing me from looking ignorant! lol Yeah I know, it’s failed miserably and I am hopelessly in the dark about the coniferous and deciduous situation surrounding me. Seriously though, I took that with a digital camera back in the fall because that ‘globule’ of water looked like it would come in handy one day for a post and whaddya know, here it is lololol 😉

Leave a Reply

