On This Planet…

there are people who contribute to the survival of others.  I have been the fortunate recipient of the presence of some of those people and the gifts they left behind in my soul continue to grow and enrich the reality that is my daily walk from the cradle to the grave.  One of these outstanding human beings is Swil Kanim.  Without delving too deeply into the grit and turmoil, I will state that this man probably has no idea the profound affect he had on my sanity at a time when my connection to my own sense of reality was as shattered as a mirror smashed on concrete. Without knowing it, his music and his kindness to my daughter let me know that the world was still there, filled with wonderful people, a solid truth on which I could rely and that I was still a participant in this human race we call life.  Hy’shqe Swil Kanim for your precious contribution to Ko-da-leet-sa’s life and mine, it meant so much.

Now my lovely poets, enjoy some fantastic music from Swil Kanim, the Violindian.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

16 thoughts on “On This Planet…”

  1. Thank you for sharing this, Val! What a beautifully written tribute. It’s true, I feel like I’ve been taking for granted the people in my life that have reminded me that life is still full of wonderful people and things. This reminds me to be grateful for them. Thank you for that.

    1. Thank you Ollin, for saying that something I’ve written mattered to your soul. It’s the only reason I write anything, to have a positive affect. For me, appreciating the little I have as well as the precious people in my life is what keeps me from being overcome by fear and despair. If we all do that for each other then we are fulfilling the ideal human purpose. 🙂

    1. Tell you what Kiersty, on the rez I heard more than once from an elder that crying is important because emotions turn toxic when not released through laughter or tears so you must cry when the urge is there. Know what? I cry easily, it doesn’t take much and I’m a mascara smeared mess. Thank you sweetie, for the beauty of you and that good heart you carry around. HUGS

    1. Oh, he’s much more than that Dhyan, he’s also a hella talented actor. 😉 Here is a trailer from ‘The business of Fancy Dancing,’ a film based on a screenplay written by Sherman Alexie. Sherman is a magnificent writer and film maker whose work has been shown at Sundance. Make sure you watch it to the very end because Swil Kanim ends the trailer beautifully. Better yet, rent the film and be transported. I agree, humility and gratitude are the only antidote to arrogance I know. :0

  2. It is amazing how there are always people there for us in our time of need. Here is something from Hafiz or you.

    OUR UNION

    Our union is like this:

    You feel cold so I reach for a blanket to cover our shivering feet.

    A hunger comes into your body so I run to my garden and start digging potatoes.

    You asked for a few words of comfort and guidance and I quickly kneel by your side…
    0ffering you a whole book as a gift.

    You ache with loneliness one night so much you weep, and I say
    here is a rope, tie it around me,
    Hafiz will be your companion for life…

    1. Thank you Dave, those words are such a precise and beautiful expression of what I feel for not only Swil Kanim, but many others who got me from there to here. 🙂

    1. Thank you Gabrielle 🙂 I left part of myself out there on that rez and maybe in some way that bit of my soul is roaming around in those woods. Sometimes I think so, I really do. 😦

Leave a Reply

