Take a Look at This…

K-os doing a little groovin’ on the streets of my old hometown.  Oh yeah, I do miss the big smoke sometimes but I’ll get back there one day.  Hey, k-os, thank you for the musical and visual trip back my brutha.  🙂

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

2 thoughts on “Take a Look at This…”

  1. Love, love, love K-Os. Did you know he’s Canadian? I think his parents are Caribbean, but he either moved to Canada at a young age or was born there. His song, I Wish I Knew Natalie Portman, is about his fear of coming to the states, especially the south, and how he overcame that when he finally visited. Isn’t that interesting?

    1. I sure did Tel! That city he is walking/dancing/singing through is my hometown of Toronto. 🙂 His parents are from Trinidad but he was born in Toronto. I’d never heard that story of his fear of the us and the southern us in particular but it doesn’t surprise me at all. We have a different history up here because our country evolved differently into a respect for differences. We did the cultural mosaic thing and you guys did the melting pot thing. We now have a lovely tiled floor with a few cracks and chips in it that is still sturdy but needs work and you all have a pot containing a very hot and spicy mixture that occasionally boils over and needs to have the heat turned down. Make no mistake, we have those racist boneheads up here too. Newfoundland is, as a blogger from here told me a long time ago, as white as loaf of Dempsters bread. There has been a change within the past five years now that the oil is here but the remoteness and accompanying resistance to change leads to remarks like this that my daughter and I received from a cashier one day in line at Walmart as an acknowledgment of my little girl’s half Native American ancestry and I quote: “Yes b’y, she’s some dark ain’t she?” I shit you not Tel, that is what she said. Don’t worry, I melted her lonely brain cell with my eyes and departed with two words that start with F and end in u 🙂

Leave a Reply

