OverFlow

It started as a trickle

the kind of leak you don’t notice in the din of noisy thinking

but in the quiet places in your heart

the deluge grew and as it cascaded down the mountainous mole hills

of fear you built to keep the other out

you welcomed the crashing waves against a worn out vessel

that served as your isolated tomb

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

16 thoughts on “OverFlow”

  1. Beautiful. For some reason the ‘mole hills’ just seem so perfect. And that rush can come up unexpected. It makes a kind of bubbly burbly flurry that you’re not quite sure what to do with.

    1. It does indeed make that kind of sound internally Kiersty. Perhaps it’s best not to know what to do with it so you can’t talk yourself out of it! LOL It’s that head versus heart thing again as always.

  2. Val, another great piece to add to your journal. It would be a great piece either before or after the chapter where you talk about the leaking roof. Just a thought. Signed– your editor. 😉

    1. You are one smart cookie/editor Tel! I dreamed of that roof more than once since then, that is how ingrained in my psyche it is. I have a volume of poetry I’ve still not dealt with and it is certainly a companion piece to the “Letters.” This is going somewhere, I just don’t know where but one thing is certain, you and three ladies are going along for the ride with me. 😉

    1. Thank you Ramiel and I hope you come back to visit my blog again. I’ve bookmarked yours and I’ll be popping over to read you and comment as well. 🙂

      1. 🙂 I’m a bit new to wordpress and didn’t know what bookmark meant, although it sounded pretty obvious. I shall do that with you!

      2. Welcome to the world of blogging then Ramiel! It’s an incredible form of self expression and a fantastic place to meet talented people. I’m glad my blog was one of your first stops. 🙂

    1. Isn’t that the truth Dhyan. One trickle and before long a torrent. I usually fight it myself, it’s the pugilist in me. My ma never raised a door mat that’s for sure.

    1. Thank you singer 🙂 It’s been a long time since you’ve been here! The lines you chose were the most meaningful to me out of the entire poem and it touches me that you liked them.

Leave a Reply

