Laid To Rest

If I want

I can do it

I can wipe out the now

like a hand sliding across a steamy mirror

If I want

I can know it

again

I can disappear back there

inside the way things felt

because how they were

was also

how they looked

a smell here

a sound there

eras blinking themselves away from me so far

that no squint could focus in

clean lens tight

but in the temple of shuffling feet and clearing throats

every dog has his day

at the self made pulpit

whether the sun shone white hot

or not

is just a consequence of looking up

or looking down

so just put them back when you’re done

and single file each one in turn

into the memory cemetery

where the corpse of your  past is finally at peace

*The past is the decomposing corpse of the present and it’s important to pay your respects a few times a year so it doesn’t stick around to haunt your empty rooms.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

6 thoughts on “Laid To Rest”

  1. The day is young…but the clock is ticking.
    I came up with that a while ago all on my own, and this poem reminded me of that and a few things I have thought of before. Another amazing read!!!

    1. Thank you Adrian, it’s more or less my frame of mind right now. I’ve been pecking away like a madwoman to finish a novel that more less incorporates the message of this poem. I decided to take a few moments to come up for air and seeing your comment gives me a good nudge to keep going. 🙂

  2. The filing system, yep. I keep mine in boxes. Each one is labelled and ribboned up. It’s nice to shuffle through them – important. This is a beautiful poem – you have an immense talent for touching that moment in all of us.

    1. Thank you kiersty, it matters to me that you see this in my writing. You and I have probably got some incredible soul files between the two of us I bet. But what is a woman’s life if it isn’t lived fully with those passionate summits of love and desperate valleys of loneliness? I think the more files we acquire the deeper we become. hugs

Leave a Reply

