Up and Down

Up

you climb

and at the top

you see

them

and they see

you

and you both see each other

and then you talk without words

a reunion

a surprise visit

It’s been a long, long time

and wasn’t it good

to just know and be

transparent and real

until the fake baggage carrier

climbed those stairs too

and put his poison in the air?

It’s good going up

but

occasionally it’s just a good coming down

without the fake baggage carrier

to see all that is sweet and true

reflected in the eyes of you

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

24 thoughts on “Up and Down”

  1. Val,

    I did not see a reply button to what you posted above so I put my comment here. I would say that being philosophical about it may not prove too fruitful. Philosophy is replete with rules and conditions and vast mental structuring. This, from what you describe, seems to be a living experience, and I have yet to find a philosophy vast enough to encapsulate the grandeur of living. I think this in many ways is expressed by the title of the Rumi poem The Most Alive Moment.

    The recognition talked about in the poem surpasses any understanding or knowing. The recognition can happen everywhere and anywhere, even amidst flux and change as the image of the crowd of others alludes to. I would say that that experience i s with you at all time, which is why it continues to affect you everyday. However we are not always aware of it being there.

    But there comes a time when we are aware and then there are ‘tears’, ‘weeping’ which are harbingers of opening to a deeper awareness. Though I have been quite verbose already I hope you don’t mind my leaving another excerpt from Rumi that approaches the same issue but from another angle esp the music we are dancing to unknowingly

    There is some kiss we want with
    our whole lives, the touch of

    spirit on the body. Seawater
    begs the pearl to break its shell.

    And the lily, how passionately
    it needs some wild darling! At

    night, I open the window and ask
    the moon to come and press its

    face against mine. Breathe into
    me. Close the language- door and

    open the love window. The moon
    won’t use the door, only the window.
    _______

    Watch the dust grains moving in the light
    near the window. Their dance is our dance.

    We rarely hear that inward music but
    we’re all dancing to it nevertheless.

    1. I am in agreement with you Dave about philosophizing this experience. I’ve tried to think my way to the truth of it and I can’t. I feel that this individual and I were in a state of bliss for a short while in a place completely constructed by my subconscious and his and until another individual appeared (the fake baggage carrier) we were in the presence of and part of the source of that power we call love. You are right, words are inadequate and perhaps at some time I will be able to develop and understanding of how and why it happened at all. The Rumi words above are beautiful and are much closer to the emotion of it than I can ever express. I’m meditating more and exploring the truth on a very narrow path that until now I’ve tried to avoid but inside I know it’s time to move forward in my soul. So much thanks to you for all your comments and your presence here Dave, you are truly a good soul. Peace.

      1. Val

        If there is ever anything I can do for you please just ask:-)

        By the way the name of the book is Catching the Thread: Sufism, Dreamwork, and Jungian Psychology.by Llewellyn Vaughan Lee. It’s really great

        Dave

      2. Thank you Dave for all your words. I may email you at some point tomorrow with a few questions regarding the sufi attitude toward certain spiritual beliefs I have. Have a wonderful Monday my friend, talk soon. πŸ™‚

    1. The idea of the fake baggage carrier is much better than the reality of him D. I think we all have one in our lives, both waking and dreaming.

    1. lol D, my dreams are a dizzy matter anyway, so I don’t doubt the vertigo you feel from my poetic account of this experience. Don’t worry, it disappears one the fake baggage carrier does. πŸ™‚

    1. I knew you would Gabrielle. Of course, who knows what life will bring, I may solve this one day with the person in question. Time will tell.

  2. Old Doc never saw the top of the mountain, but got close enough to have no regrets. I always remember the words of my Lit agent, “Be kind to everyone on the way up, ’cause you’ll meet all of ’em on the way back down.”

    Dr. B

    1. This is why I stretch my neck now, just far enough to peer over the edge, being careful to keep my feet on the bottom step. This way, I can hang out with everyone up and down that set of stairs. It surely is good to see you visit again Dr. B, you always bring the bluegrass spirit in with you along with some sunshine. πŸ™‚

  3. Val,
    you left e here to wonder and i am not even sure of what

    i only know that though reaching to the lowest place seems somewhat easier – it is much harder than reaching the top.

    1. It is easier and better to come down, but that takes courage and this is highly unlikely for some people. This whole experience is and was very difficult to express and I may never be able to deal with this situation properly until I die when there is no longer a down or up, but just a state of being. To be honest, it is a spiritual experience I didn’t seek or ask for and one I wish had never happened. It did leave me with a new resolve to take some inventory and purge my life of the people and things that are preventing me from moving forward. In many ways Dhyan, I’ve spent my life in emotional bondage to the passive/aggressive behavior of others close to me and the fact is, I’ve outgrown it. The spiritual moment I’ve described up there in the poem was a defining moment for my soul. πŸ™‚

  4. Another mystical poem this reminded me of:

    THE MOST ALIVE MOMENT

    The most living moment comes when
    those who love each other meet each

    other’s eyes and in what flows
    between them then. To see your face

    in a crowd of others, or alone on a
    frightening street, I weep for that.

    Our tears improve the earth. The
    time you scolded me, your gratitude,

    your laughing, always your qualities
    increase the soul. Seeing you is a

    wine that does not muddle or numb.
    We sit inside the cypress shadow

    where amazement and clear thought
    twine their slow growth into us.

    — Rumi

    1. Exploring, that is beautiful and this passage by Rumi is precisely what I was attempting to explain with words to share my experience. This ‘meeting’ has haunted me for two years and now matter how I try to understand it, it still remains a mystery. 😦

      1. Val,

        No sad face.I am sure it will not remain a mystery for ever. I feel that this kind of mystery is not one that can be unraveled or understood by the mind, just like love. Rumi, has said

        Dry lips are a sign that you will eventually reach a spring.
        Dry lips are a message from the water:
        If you keep searching, you will find me.

        The fact that you want to unravel the mystery is a sign like dry lips. The not being able to understand is the first clue or hint.

        Just my two cents
        Dave

      2. I suppose I should be more philosophical about the entire episode Dave, but the experience was so moving and it has affected me every day since. It has opened my mind regarding certain things but those things are still in a state of flux. I think your two cents are very important and if my dry lips are a clue, then that at least gives me a little clearer starting point. Okay, off with the sad face and on with the happy one πŸ™‚ Thank you as always for your words Dave.

    1. Know what Maxine? You are brilliant, because it was just that, a brush with the almighty, the divine etc through the meeting of another human soul, a perfect fit shall we say, in another reality. HUGS for your astute observation. πŸ™‚

    1. Both Brad. The baggage was for effect to make it seem as if the carrier was suffering under the weight, when in fact they weren’t because the baggage was an illusion, a passive/aggressive lie.

  5. Every time that I go up I am still kicking down the fake baggage carrier, if I am down, I always make sure that I hold him secure so he can go up more! For the poison I use a mask.

    Great one Val!

Leave a Reply

