Karen Carpenter…

was beautiful, a talented singer and a kick ass drummer.  Somehow her legacy has been devoured by time and a rapid descent of popular music into the gutter of creative bankruptcy, sexploitation and reality shows for people who should have stayed in their bedrooms singing into their hairbrushes instead of being the cause of mass ear hemorrhages.

Here is some Karen.  This song has a personal meaning for me and as with all great music, that meaning has changed over time to include other experiences in my life and heart.  Enjoy.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

7 thoughts on “Karen Carpenter…”

  1. As a child of the 70s, I grew up with Karen’s voice floating from the radio and T.V., though it wasn’t until I was older that I really grew to appreciate her voice. There is a richness about her voice, it’s so pure and true. There are many singers out there that I like and admire, and there are several that are no longer around — yet, there are none like her, past or present. Every time I hear one of her songs, I am left saddened at all the beautiful music she never got to make.

    Thanks for sharing this song; my personal favorite: “Rainy Days and Mondays.”

    1. Thank you for reading and listening phases 🙂 I just love it when someone new drops by my blog and comment! You are correct, there was a richness about her voice that has never been duplicated and I’ll bet if she and a few other artists from that era had lived, music would have gone in another direction entirely. Sadly, we are left with a group of lip syncers and over produced studio mimes. The sound now is very plastic and without soul. I hope you come back again phases and read/listen.

  2. Singers are rare that produce a sound that doesn’t even need a tune to get into your heart and she was one. Stolen from us at her peak with so much more to offer. Thanks Val.

Leave a Reply

