The Soloist

In here

which is out there

I found some words

written on the knife cutting wind

profound and moving

not fake and soothing

a wake up

face slap

whip crack

sobering turning

my head around

morning noon and night have laid down

said their piece/peace

telling it like it is

like it was

like it will be

the soloist performs alone

while the audience fades to black

 

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

22 thoughts on “The Soloist”

    1. I hope the profound effect was a good one and not bad one Brad. I was pondering aloneness the other day and thought of how I’ve always been that way, and that this writing thing I do is probably an extension of this. It’s a funny thing, but every single experience I’ve had that was of any importance, I had to do it alone. I don’t think it is any different for others but lately I’ve been thinking about the nature of aloneness and whether it is a self imposed experience based on fear of abandonment or rejection. I was raised mostly as an only child so I think some of it also came from that, as well as this insane writing thing I keep doing. πŸ˜‰

    1. Yep, like I said, word fuckery in action lol It’s an art ya know Gilles and you my dear are an artist! πŸ˜‰
      Now, I think I need to get back to WORK and clean out those horse stalls before there is an equine revolt and they bolt from the barn. lol

    1. Leave it to you Gilles to post the one song I hate by Lynyrd Skynyrd. Equating horses to women is probably not a nice thing to say. :0

      1. No Gilles, no amount of word fuckery is going to alter the fact that the horse is a horse and the woman is a woman. You can’t weasel your way outta this one dude. lolololol The next thing you’ll be saying is that the horse is barn and the woman is a pitchfork. Sheesh! Friggin men anyway. πŸ˜‰

  1. SWORD OF THE WOLF

    Lone wolf
    Fades to black
    In the same glimpse
    That the audience disappear
    To let softly emerge
    A vanilla strike
    On a double-edged blade
    A claymore of silk
    For the eyes of the moon
    And the river’s tongue

      1. Okay, confess it Gilles, who gave you this film of me without makeup! I demand to know! Bwahahahahahaha lolololol

    1. Thank you Gabrielle πŸ™‚ For writers I think it’s like that last line, the audience doesn’t really exist for us when we are immersed in the solo act of creativity. I’ve never really met an extroverted writer therefore I’m basing my poem on that observation.

  2. I should keep scrolling because there’s more to read since the last time I was here a few days ago but sheeeeeeeesh, this is just wonderful. Cinematic in the best way; the audience cries for more.

    1. I like that Kiersty, cinematic! I think that is one of the top three compliments I’ve ever gotten for what I’ve written. Thank you! πŸ™‚ I wrote that because I feel that way, always have. I’m a lone wolf, always have been but I’m good with it now but I wasn’t for a long time.

    1. Polo? Nah B, a cello dear man, a cello. πŸ˜‰ Can’t ya hear my internal music filling the hall with strains of ‘This world is fucked and I can’t fix it?” lolol

Leave a Reply

