Me and Icarus

Me and Icarus

we got to talking

beside the sea

together walking

about wings and wax

and falling down

and fathers and failure

and stupid clowns

and how it never melts

the same way twice

this soaring addict junkie vice

so we made a plan

a real deal

to seal our fate

with a lot less zeal

to scan the sky

with our eyes closed

then jump the cliff

and prepare to fly

to kiss the sun

and say goodbye

to liberate the need to die

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

14 thoughts on “Me and Icarus”

  1. Val you have proven that writers still live with this wonderful work, truly a great mind with creativity to match, quite a pairing.

    1. Thank you Marcus that is a lovely thing to say. I like the Greek myths and Icarus is the one I related to the most in my life. I’m trying to keep myself away from the sun now though, falling in the sea takes it’s toll after a while.

  2. I worry that the journey there would be too fast… I would want it to be a slow ride, one to enjoy, one to be given time to become a memory… damn.

  3. ‘To scan the sky’! Those words pierced my thoughts Val. I suppose the distinction between ‘reading’ from paper and ‘scanning’ from a backlit device like this is fairly old hat now and not very surprising but it sticks in my mind that looking out the window at the sky for me has become a very different activity to the one it used to be.

    1. As it happens I am a bit sky obsessed Brad. When I was a little girl, very young I used to lay in the back seat of our constantly moving car and just stare up through the back window and pretend I was up there flying. I always wanted to fly, still do. You are right though, seeing the sky has become a different experience for many of us including you and I. Funny thing about the sky, it is an ever changing reality up there and yet it is always of the same expansive and hopeful nature. That sky up there is the birthplace of liberty, the place that makes gravity a preposterous lie. πŸ™‚ hugs

  4. Fantastic Val – great rhythm and pace! (and that song is one of my favourites) – especially love this bit:

    ‘and falling down
    and fathers and failure
    and stupid clowns
    and how it never melts
    the same way twice’

    1. Which song Gabrielle? Send the link so I can hear it. I have been in love with Icarus and the idea of his folly since I was ten and if there is a song I’ll post it! Whoohoo! I’m glad you like those lines in particularly because they were the most difficult to write. πŸ™‚

      1. LOLOLOLOL Gabrielle! Okay, idiot moment #2 this week. I won’t regale with the horrific tale of idiot moment #1, suffice to say it was a doozy. lol Tom Petty is cooooooooooool and smoooooooooooooth and I love him big teeth and all. Of course, ever since he did the voice over for the character of Lucky on King of the Hill, all I can see it one tooth! πŸ™‚

  5. Awesome, Val. I’m a big fan of anything Greek-myth related, and the story of Icarus and how relevant it is to all of us is one of my faves. Thank you for reminding us again.

    1. I’ve always felt a kinship to Icarus and of course you are correct, he is someone we can all relate to at more than one time in our lives. Next time, I think old Icarus and I will take the train. πŸ˜‰

    1. LOL Cindy, I took it down and since you’ve read it and it’s on the Feminist blogs page I put it up again. I’m happy it made you chuckle! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

