Three Word Poem

One more breath

Four ย Word Poem

Lips lie

eyes cry

Five word Poem

Such love

as this

endures

 

Six Word Poem

Arms wrap tightly

around no one

 

Eight Word Poem

What else is there

for me to dread?

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

18 thoughts on “”

  1. Your 3,4,5,6,7,8, word poems are something else. I found myself wondering how so much could be put into so little. Very nicely and professionally done.

    1. This is an exercise I do to stop myself from over writing in my fiction and memoir work. It keeps me from drifting away from the spirit of my subject. I’ve been very influenced by Hemingway’s ability to do this. He could extract a complete description of the emotional life of a character by only mentioning one or two things about them in a single sentence. I feel this is the heart of good fiction, The immediacy of the language creates a clear communication from the writer to the reader and I believe it draws them into a book faster and keeps them there.

    1. I feel it is this way for all people sometimes and some people all the time. The human condition of loneliness is what I was striving for here. Your comment tells me my striving was not in vain. Thank you Adrian.

  2. Very moving Val – hope you cheer up soon ๐Ÿ™‚ – I’m particularly partial to your six word poem (and in real life I would never, ever say ‘particularly partial’ as it sounds rediculous – hahaha).

    1. I like particularly partial, it sounds like a good starting point for a tongue twister! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m good Gabrielle, I just get some days with shades of blue and then I chase them away with my daughter’s smile and my need to act the fool and make her laugh. hugs

  3. Hi Val, I enjoyed your creative poetry with the different word count in each one. It makes the writer more aware of word choices. And each poem in its’ brevity makes the reader re-read each poem a few times until the skillful writing shows it’s message.
    Nicely done!

    1. Thank you Vivian, what a lovely compliment! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope come back and visit, I always love new friends and readers to drop in to see what nuttiness I’m cooking up.

  4. #8 rocks. Sounds like something someone famous and inspirational might say, like Eleanor Roosevelt or someone. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. LOL Tel, I as feeling particularly sour when I wrote that one, you know down a black hole of drama queen frustration! Yes, I do have my drama queen moments, but shh! Don’t breathe a word of it to anyone else. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Thank you Kiersty honey for appreciating my economic stuff. Some people think it is too simplistic but to be honest, it is a writing exercise I do when I feel stunted creatively. Hugs

  5. I like the idea of asking yourself what there is left to dread. Personally, I find myself worrying about those things that I cannot possibly anticipate. For example, a rodent infestation in the basement. Or maybe the internet dying of old age (what is it’s life expectancy anyway?). Rats only live to be 3. No one knows about the internet’s lifespan…

    Happy New Year, and may it be creative.

    D

    1. Well D, I had the rats, too many times in my life to count. For real, in the house. They’re gone now, poisoned them just to piss off the PETA people and to do my part in the prevention of the return of Bubonic Plague. :0 The internet will die when it either A. evolves into complete brain and machine fusion or B. There isn’t anymore money to be made from our short attention spans and dazzled eyes. Happy New Year to you too and tomorrow I’ll be doing a linkage to you so check back D.

    1. Jeeper Stafford, that being distracted could mean you are very exact or you weren’t sure about my counting lol The fact that you think they are brilliant totally redeems you of your doubt in my mathematical abilities. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank you and Happy New Year with wishes for realized dreams and days full of love and laughter.

Leave a Reply

