The Olive Tree

It’s quiet out here on a limb

a problem of external precipice all legs

dangling while the olives ripen over your rough edges

and branches lengthen in anticipation

of reaching the end

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

6 thoughts on “”

  1. Tel sounds like he’s onto something – there is something about the purity of the poetry that would sit nicely with the gritty nature of the letters (they could play off each other nicely).

    1. I’m going to putter around with that manuscript and perhaps this could be something that would be published along with it, but that will ultimately be up to a publisher I suppose. It would make my heart sing though if it were to happen that way.

  2. You know, Val, reading your letters and reading poems like this seem to go well together. Well, they seem to play off one another. I wonder if you’ve given any thought to combining the two — or maybe poetry will surface later? Right now, I’m thinking of the tree you saw in your dream and how it juxtaposes with this uncertain olive tree.

    1. It’s interesting you should make the connection Tel and then mention poetry. I actually have a manuscript I’ve been farting around with for a long while. Many of the poems were written when I was over there homeless and my podcast has some of them on it. You have however given me an idea and perhaps it needs expanding to include poems relating to the shack experience as well as the shelter/street experience. I sent it to Bryan a while back and he felt it had merit but it was just too thin and maybe this is the answer to that problem. The letters now are about an apple tree, a focus for my feelings at the time. Read on and you will see what I mean. I’ve got more to send when you are ready. I do adore you for doing that and for just being you Tel. 🙂

    1. Thank you Kiersty, I hope they never reach the end too, mostly because my life has been about awful endings and I left it there, hanging like that hopeful and unknown.

Leave a Reply

