Dream Poem #2

Three to the wall

Standing in that great expanse of paintings on the wall

In no time at all

and I do mean no time at all, because the clock on the wall had no hands

smoke began to rise above the roof

and my room was on fire

I had to save the cats and dogs

or they would surely die!

Up and up the stairs I ran but when I reached the room at the top of the final step

they were gone

no cats

no dogs

just an empty smoke filled room that wasn’t even on fire!

I was exasperated until I noticed the open window

the one with shades of gray

right there

on the other side of the glass

on the roof

was a bag

and neatly tucked inside

sleeping off the fake fire excitment

were the last cat and dog on earth

who were oblivious to my stepping back as I awoke from a dream

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

18 thoughts on “Dream Poem #2”

  1. By the way today is 1-11-11 and I beg your pardon for being late with a Happy New Year, but I want you to know that I wish you all the best and happiness.

  2. As the first comment stated to this post “gripping”. I’m not sure why I don’t dream anymore. Perhaps all my demons are satiated in reality, but that may well be another story all together.

    1. You do dream Marcus, but you just don’t remember them. Stress and waking too early will erase the memory of dream images. If you are ever curious about what you are dreaming, set your alarm for about an hour before you usually wake up and then after you shut off your alarm, allow yourself to fall back asleep and you will have vivid recall. Thank you for appreciating my nocturnal lunacy lol I do dream work as a way to self understanding and for psychic development therefore I have a lot of detail in my recall.

    1. My dreams are pretty weird Adrian, but I lucid dream and most of the time I’m aware I’m in them and often I’m there for a purpose. I’m into the mysticism of dreams and that sort of thing. πŸ™‚

  3. Maybe it was raining cats and dogs – haha – and that’s how the fire inside of you went out – these things aren’t always black and white are they – there are often ‘shades of grey’. I just love the clock with no hands πŸ™‚

    1. Excellent B! I’m happy you discovered the humour of my nocturnal lunacy. πŸ™‚ The lotto eh? Oh brutha I’m gonna do better than that, I’m gonna ink a deal with a major pub house, get my arse on Oprah’s couch and throw down, oh yeah. I hope you win the lotto, get a three book deal AND get some couch time on THE VIEW bwahahahahaha You and Joy Behar are made to spar πŸ˜‰

    1. I agree, this one was too short because I had a cramp in my leg and had to get up. If I’d not gotten the leg cramp I bet it would have continued on with the dog and the cat talking to me. πŸ˜‰ Ah, I can’t wait to see what my first dream of 2011 will be! Much love Devika for all good and wonderful things to be yours in 2011. HUGS

  4. An absolutely gripping dream poem, Val…only thing I doubt if the last cat and dog were just pretending to sleep….Just a doubt! πŸ™‚

    Happy and Inspired New Year, my friend πŸ™‚

    wishes,
    devika

    1. The dog was a terrier and the cat was actually my cat Sparkey. That damn cat always gets his nose in my dreams or my blog or books I write…sheesh, you’d think that cat is my muse for something. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

