Ante

In the generous morning light

the ravens gather in the corner of the pessimists square sun

preparing for the game

and the parched liars wither under the heat

of arrogant bluffing on poker faces

codes and the constant drip drip drip

anonymous words from invisible lips

You can hate the messenger

or you can love the messenger

at least his legion dealt us in

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

15 thoughts on “Ante”

  1. Hi Val,
    Snow, Christmas shopping…I am slow in responding.
    I went to see Stephen Kuzma and I like a lot the way he handles light.
    The contrast in bright and somber zones, which is something I try to do and never obtain to my satisfaction. It requires a lot of strength end energy.
    I dont have any idea for your article at the moment, bu twill keep my eye open.
    Acadians, I love their accents. Good to have them in your family, I believe in mixes in cultures. Should help us to understand each other!
    Thank you for what you say about seeing the world from an artist view point being the purest. It is a very nice compliment but I see every one being an artist, a creative person, but not being aware of it. They need a spark to open the door…back to your picture.

    1. Sometimes I’m slow to respond also Benedicte and it’s a busy time of year anyway for all of us. I’m thrilled you checked out Stephen’s work! The bright and sombre tones you noticed are interesting because he likes to paint people who do labour, hard work and you say it is very hard work to achieve that particular quality. He has scenes of fishermen seen from the oddest angles, painted in the sombre tones you mention and the sweat and fatigue show for this reason I think, that use of darkness with minimal light that is almost luminous. I also agree with you about cultures and blending to understand each other. I love my Acadian half, it’s been a major influence on my outlook and personality I could never get my palate to like the Rappie pie lol

  2. Bonjour Val,

    I was wondering if you are in Montreal, talking about snow in your comment on Gabrielle’s blog.
    I find that very interesting the choice of your gravatar picture. Opening a door and near a light switch. Very symbolic, visually, for me anyway.
    I also love raven!

    1. Bonjour Benedicte ๐Ÿ™‚ No, sadly I’m not in Montreal the best city in Canada as far as I’m concerned. I’ve been living in St. John’s Newfoundland for the past seven years but I miss the mainland where I come from. My family are from the French shore and the Annapolis Valley in Nova Scotia, but grew up for the most part in Ontario. Quebec got hammered by snow I saw and we were supposed to get our share last night but other than a sprinkling of white on the ground this morning, we are still green. You and I both know that in Canada it is only a matter to time until the winter arrives. How are you in Montreal? How much snow did you finally get? By the way, it is an honour to have you visit my blog, you are a tremendous artist and as my daughter is a budding artist, I’m partial to the paint brush types. hugs ๐Ÿ™‚ May I put you on my blog roll?

    2. Oh yes and also Benedicte, you are the only one who guessed what I was up to when I had my daughter take my photo like that! I admit it, it was a staged photo because of the door and light switch. I was trying make it look on my comments as if I’d just popped my head in the door of the blog and switched on the light to say something. Thank you also for liking the raven in the poem. My history with crows and ravens is a love/hate thing. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. We got quite a bit of snow, 30cm and guess what, it is like no one ever saw snow before! The city is not cleared up but I like it when everything is covered in white.
        St-Jhon’s Newfoudland, an other destination I would love to go!
        I listen sometimes to St Pierre et Miquelon tv station and I see that you have more people from there visiting than from Montreal.
        Your family is Acadian?
        Thank you very much for all the nice things you say, I will be very glad to reciprocate and add you to my blog roll.
        The switchlight to me says a lot like the objects put in classical portrait paintings, like a compass for a navigator. A switchlight and a half open door suit well a poet, poetry does enlighten the world don’t you think?

      2. You got a LOT of snow Benedicte! I’m not surprised that the city is still clearing, that is a phenomenal amount to fall over such a short period of time. St. John’s is a unique place, but I will be happy to leave when the time comes. I’m here until my daughter finishes highschool because I want her to graduate with the same group of children she has been with since the first grade. Ah yes, St. Pierre et Michelon! There is a great path cut across the sky by the French and the Newfoundlanders visiting each other. I’ve known people who buy a place ticket so they can fly over to St. Pierre et Michelon for the pastry and perfume. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve never been myself, but I’m curious about it. Yes, my family is Acadian on my father’s side. My grandfather was originally from Cap Pelรฉ in New Brunswick but my grandmother was from Nova Scotia. I spent a lot of time in Saulnierville, Meteghan, and Clare when I was a little girl. I went back to the shore and valley a year ago this past summer, showing my daughter around, but most of my family have moved away or passed on, so it was a trip for remembrance.
        How you see things Benedicte, is how an artist ‘sees’ and it is a view of the world that is the most pure and accurate.
        Thank you for reciprocating and putting me on you blog roll as well. Your work is very inspired and I particularly love your use of vibrant colour, it says a great deal about the artist. Have you ever heard of an artist by the name of Stephen Kuzma? I met him when I was in Nova Scotia, he spends his summers there. He is originally from New York and his work is interesting. If you look on my sidebar you will find a link to his website. Don’t believe his bio photos lol he has older than that but he insists on fooling with us. I did an interview with him when I was there and I took some photographs of his studio as well as some of his works in progress. Somehow I will sell this article to someone when I figure out who to submit it to. I’m usually good with identifying a market but this one has me stumped. If you have any ideas please tell me, because the photographs themselves are more revealing of the artist than anything he told me.

    1. Thanks Cindy, Julian Assange has shown us all something important, we are not really free, it is an illusion. So much is at stake here, and this is really a worldwide revolution. No government will be able to control this and they shouldn’t.

  3. Ravens? Love, ravens, Val. It’s a Baltimore thing from the days when I lived right around the corner from the resting place of Poe. Speaking of which, this would make him proud.

    1. I have a love/hate relationship with them Tel, and they have made it into my poetry a lot actually. The thought of Poe reading my words, is spine tingling indeed. Thank you for liking this. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

