Today Is The Anniversary Of…

the massacre at L’École Polytechnique  On December 6, 1989, Marc Lepine entered the engineering class and proceeded to murder only the women, specifically, the women you see in the photos below.  They had everything to live for but were robbed of their chance to fulfill their destinies and their families were robbed of their loved ones.

Why did Marc Lépine commit this atrocity?  This is why…

Marc Lépine (October 26, 1964 – December 6, 1989) was a 25-year-old man from MontrealCanada who murdered fourteen women and wounded ten women and four men[1] at the École Polytechnique, an engineering school affiliated with the Université de Montréal, in the “École Polytechnique massacre“, also known as the “Montreal Massacre”.[2][3]

Lépine was born Gamil Rodrigue Liass Gharbi, in Montreal, the son of a Canadian nurse and an Algerian-born businessman. His father was abusive and contemptuous of women. After his parents separated when he was seven, his mother returned to nursing to support her children. Lépine and his younger sister lived with other families, seeing their mother on weekends. Lépine was considered bright but withdrawn and having difficulties with peer and family relationships. He changed his name to Marc Lépine at the age of 14 giving as the reason his hatred of his father. Lépine’s application to the Canadian Forces was rejected, and in 1982 he began a science program at a college, switching to a more technical program after one year. In 1986, he dropped out of the course in his final term, and was subsequently fired from his job at a hospital due to his poor attitude. He began a computer programming course in 1988, and again abandoned it before completion. Lépine twice applied for admission to the École Polytechnique, but lacked two required compulsory courses.

After several months of planning, Lépine entered the École Polytechnique de Montréal, on the afternoon of December 6, 1989. He had long complained about women working in non-traditional jobs, and after separating men and women in a classroom, he shot the women, claiming that he was fighting feminism. He then moved into other parts of the building, targeting women as he went, before killing himself. His suicide note blamed feminists for ruining his life.

Lépine’s actions have been variously ascribed to psychiatric diagnoses such as personality disorderpsychosis, or attachment disorder, or societal factors such as poverty, isolation, powerlessness, and violence in the media. The massacre is regarded by criminologists as an example of a hate crime against women, and by feminists and government officials as misogynist attack and an example of the larger issue of violence against women.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

39 thoughts on “Today Is The Anniversary Of…”

  1. I quietly watch – I hope you don’t mind. I wanted to show you this and hoped it wouldn’t seem too inept putting it here – a programme my youngest daughter watches avidly about history and its bare facts, put in a modern way. This scene particularly made me laugh and then at the very end, I felt so proud of the way it had been written. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I don’t know whether you get the modern ‘wife swap’ programme over there but I think it speaks for itself. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uLyW5UYPYYs

    1. Hi Narnie, no, I don’t mind at all! I’m honoured to have you visit me. I cruise by your site and read as well and I’ve had you on my blog roll for a long while. I watched this and felt very torn. I am and have been both. I can use a chain saw, cut wood with an axe, pull up a fishing net, clean fish, hunt and rough it without complaint however, I’ve been in a position where I’ve lost the power and control over my own life and both were at the same time. How odd to be both an Athenian and a Spartan. I thinks leads in perfectly with my notion that I’m not alone in this and that to think women or men for that matter are one dimensional and extreme is a false image created by society with the individual’s permission for a variety reasons. I’m going to show this to my girl, she will love this, thank you Kiersty! Much love to you and please come back okay? 🙂

      1. french genetic? or canadian interpretation of it? countries are dead now, we all live in amerika, occident über alles^^, in greed we trust is our common law, cartels and banks rules

    1. He looks a bit like my late uncle Hector. He smokes a lot like I used to a long time ago when I was young and thought lung cancer was a lie. When was this filmed, it looks vintage and I liked it a lot Gilles. 🙂

  2. nb; what i said before is not only based on my personnal experience, i asked, listened and heard a lot and it’s a fact that women don’t tell nothing about women to their sons, mostly because when they say and think to the word ” women” , that only means “me, myself, I” in their minds. but nvm^^

    1. Well, not only based on my personal experience, I asked, listened and heard a lot and it’s a fact that men don’t tell nothing about men to their daughters, mostly because etc. 🙂 Example is the best teacher. They way a woman treats her husband, the way a man treats his wife, all of us who are parents can attest to this fact, that children learn best by watching and the emulating their parent’s behavior. Here is the truth about women Gilles: We are born, we live, sometimes we get married, sometimes we have children and then we die. Here is the truth about men: They are born, they live, sometimes they get married, sometimes they have children and then they die. How we treat each other in between is all that matters. 🙂

      1. it’s ok, so listen to that:
        1st act of violence is the lack of hearring (i told you before not one girl knew the answer to a specific question)
        2nd act of violence is the lack of recognition (when they hear what is the one and only answer to that question, 80% of the women don’t want to admit it and say that is awful – in fact, that’s not -)
        the rest, and all the rest, is just consequences of that
        find the proper answer to that question – and please, no more “drown the fish” for me – and you’ll see it (if you really want to see it^^; otherwise, you will complain during centuries and that won’t change a single thing^^)

        men and women are different, especially when talking about children, (fatherhood is quite different from motherhood – as different as authority and power -, many people make a mistake on that point and please don’t talk to me of a mirage called parenthood^^), so things cannot be said as ” we have children”.

        to the point of what men tell or not, women have a big advantage in the use of language – as a poet, i cannnot be considered as representative of the male gender-, so better ask what did or not women, i told you before – about another point -: women first.

        now, the only question is: do you really want to know?
        so, in that case, face the question…in any other case, better stop talking about that, it could last centuries and i’m fed up with that kind of debate i used to make some years ago. just ask you if you want to know, and don’t try to convince me about any point, i spent years on it, now the time of questions is gone away, i only have time for poetry, and nothing else.^^

      2. 1. I thought you said you don’t debate? 😉
        2. I agree with some of what you said, I disagree with other things you’ve said.
        3. 🙂

  3. motherhood? a lost thing in our countries, dear, just have a look: in occident, 70%++ of the population is living in towns: a woman -free from this awful male oppression- spend 10-12 hours per day, only for her “professional blooming” (feminist dialectic), then 8 hours of sleeping, how long does she spent for her children?….motherhood is now dead or contracted out, nannies are the real mothers now.

    and one other funny question: what is the most important word to hear when a woman is saying ” my child”? ^^

    just a point: simone de beauvoir is a woman that did refuse children and family all along her life; in occident, 97% of the women do have children….

    1. A NANNY! Who the hell can afford that? Who the hell would want one? I strive to stay alive and in my country in Canada, we do it ourselves for the most part of you don’t get out the front door in the winter. lol Gilles, you Europeans must have it pretty damn good over there, if everyone has a nanny! Either that, or you are a lot wealthier than 90% of Canadians.
      As for Simone, I know full well who she was. 🙂

  4. it’s raw and cruel (it is not, but it could be considered as) and my words could hurt

    1st: who choose the other?
    2nd: why choosing a worker when dreaming of a prince?
    3rd:why things wrongly called “needs” do increase with time?
    4th: who has the real power in a family? ( power usually should lead to responsability)
    5th: many men have sisters, all have a mother; what does a mother say to her sons about how are women? ( i can answer this one in a non cruel way: NOTHING, so year after year, century after century, women are complaining that men don’t understand^^, how could they? between you & me, it’s better they stay unconscious and keep dreaming in that particular case)
    aso

    1. Your words don’t hurt me but they do make me feel hurt because your mother and father told you nothing, which is unfortunately a lot like many of us in this world who walk around blind to each other, isolated, angry and lonely. You’ve actually touched on the thing that matters most in this world Gilles, the way children are treated, children of both genders. I believe women are luckier because we carry and give birth to the children and I feel that if a woman chooses to continue with a pregnancy, she is doing something powerful and important. Sadly, motherhood, fatherhood and the treatment of children doesn’t matter is not a priority in this world. Money, status, religion, culture, fashion, these things take precedence over the babies and it is unforgivable. Teaching a child to love themselves and telling them that they are special simply because they are alive, teaching compassion to a child by showing it to them each moment of the day, these things are the only important components to a child’s life, everything else, the necessities like food, shelter, medical care and safety follow naturally after this. The truly difficult problem is how do adults who are fundamentally fucked up from their own messed up childhoods, how do they heal enough to raise their children in the loving right way that will alter the course of humanity forever? This is the only problem that matters to me. As for men and women and all that, fix the family so that children are not neglected or abused (and that means abuse by way of setting the wrong example and passing on unhealthy behavior, as well as physical and sexual abuse) and you will bring women and men closer together and there will be peace. It requires a decision by each individual to do the right thing, that is all it takes.

    2. One last thing, I knew a man once, my uncle Keith, he was my hero, still is. Gilles, he was the only healthy male influence in my life but he had more impact than any other man ever has simply because he was good. He was a fisherman, a gentleman and sadly, he passed away of cancer at 49, after suffering terribly. He was Courageous and I miss him. 😦

  5. go to a big city and make a visit to an emergency center of the salute army, you’ll find mainly men in that kind of places; ask them why they are here and open your ears if you want here the truth.
    then you’ll reconsidered your position about the way violence is coming into a man. (if u want to hear it^^)

    1. Well Gilles, guess what? I lived on the street in the US while I was searching for my child. I’ve been in those places and knew many people who slept in the alleys and ate at the Salvation Army soup kitchen. I myself lived at the YWCA for a time, slept on a bus bench, park bench, domestic violence shelters and a friend’s apartment floor. The mission was by far the worst, piss and shit on the floors, mats full of lice and the people who lived there all had one story that led them to it: They were abused as children. The problem with this world is the family and the disregard and utter cruelty shown to children. Fix the family and you will have solved it all.

      1. family now —–> 50% divorce, asked by women in 85% of the cases (and don’t tell me please that’s because they are more courageous than men^^, i know why it’s like that) : you can call that bankrupt

        here’s a good funny question: who choose the other? power, did you say?^^

      2. Okay Gilles, then tell me, why is it like that? 🙂 I know why my relationships failed, but I can only speak for myself in that regard.

  6. I once read an obituary in a newspaper, it mystified me and still does to this day. Perhaps the dead lad was a Marc Lepine?

    “Malcolm R. A wasted life, mercifully ended. Remembered with regret by his parents.”

    1. You never know Cindy, it could have been. It’s just tragic that this person was at one time a small child, a baby and somehow he got from innocence to corruption and violence. So horrible. 😦

  7. In last week’s debate (BBC) on the proposition that (As I remeber) ‘Religion is not a force for good in the world” between Tony Blair and Christoher Hitchens, Hitchens said, “No society becomes viable that does not empower women”. We don’t have to look far to see what supression of women does to their sons! He might have hated the father, probably becasuse he couldn’t live up to the father’s expectations (ther source of the insanity), but he certainly was influecned by his attitudes to women.

    1. Thank you Stafford, for saying it all perfectly. The one thing I have observed as a woman, is that men treat each other as bad and many times worse than they treat women. War is a perfect example. One day this will change, I know it. 🙂

  8. It’s not so much the ascribed psychological diagnosis I find interesting, but the social issues in his life, such as the powerlessness, isolation, and poverty, the very issues any of us fight against when we fight for “feminism.”

    1. Precisely Tel. What I find most interesting, is that the primary abusive presence in his life was his father and yet he turned his rage and hatred of his father on women. I have had a great deal to overcome, as I’m sure most of us have and yet, we ‘choose’ another way, a peaceful way. I can only ever come up with this to explain evil: They do it because they want to and because they can. Unfortunately there is no prevention program or therapy for those who choose to kill another and I doubt there ever will be. 😦

Leave a Reply

