Decider

You are such a lovely swan

framed in perfect light

you make a grand entrance now and then

between the day and dark of night

crushing roses and striking poses

I thought I heard you sigh

because if truth be told

you’re not that cold

Your distance is a lie

that we both pretend is true

it’s no longer up to me you see,

now it’s up

To

You.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

8 thoughts on “Decider”

  1. Hmm.. we have this way of saying what we want to, and then saying, ‘now the ball is in your court’… but then again, there is only so much one can do, anyway… after that, it’s not really up to us 🙂

    Well put, Val.. and very beautifully worded … convincing, really!

    1. Thank you kavita, it is exactly as you described it. I think most indecision is not really indecision, but more an issue of fear.

  2. Oh! I just made a couple of written decisions this afternoon and now I’m wondering if I wrote myself in to this. Or did I just read myself in? um… either way I’m moving in. haha

    1. LOL Brad. You’ve been on a thinking bender over at your blog and honest to god, you have all worn me out! Oh, okay I’m not that worn out lol but it is hella fun to fart around with ideas and words and to do it with such witty and arcane thinkers. 🙂

  3. Has this got something to do with ectoplasmic lovers from the other side – haha – just harking back to that music video thingy. This is an awesome poem – could be taken a couple of ways (even more) – one reading is light and airy and fun, another reading is quite chilling and yet another is quite surreal. I’ll take all three 🙂 but the light and airy one is my favourite.

    1. Well Gabrielle, it is Ectoplasmic, chilling, surreal and light and airy! 😉 As with all my poetry, it is informed by my life and emotional experiences, but to tell the inspiration for this would ruin it for the reader. I will only say it is from something that has happened to me in the past. 🙂

Leave a Reply

