Are You Poets Up For A Challenge,

and a bit of a creative exercise that is part Freud, part fun part stream of consciousness? Good!  I knew you would be game.  Before I present this nifty experiment, let me give you some background.  I was visiting my favourite writers this evening and when I stopped by Cindy Taylor’s blog, (You need to get yourself over there, she is not only an incredible writer but also an incredible cook!) I noticed she’d done one of those questionnaires.  She has posted them before and her answers are always witty and  insightful.   Reading her answers reminded me of a comment she made on my blog earlier about not posting poetry on her blog anymore.  Well of course, being the rebel thinker I am, I ignored the questions and read only her answers and you will never guess what I saw:  A P.O.E.M.  Yep, that’s right and it wasn’t even written intentionally.  The sheer brilliance of this just had to be shared with others, because quite frankly, I can’t keep this sort of novelty to myself.  This is of course where our nifty Freud/stream of consciousness/fun exercise comes into play.  Below I’ve posted the Proust questionnaire, one I’ve posted before because the questions have depth and are revealing emotionally.  Now I know you may be asking yourselves, what are we supposed to do with it?  It’s actually quite easy lovely scribes, here is the plan:  Answer each question and post them on your blog, leaving out the questions.  ONLY the answers can appear and it should of course be written in some poetic form.  You can rearrange the lines all you want, but maintain the integrity of the answers, because this is where the art is hiding. You don’t have to answer all the questions, just those that strike your fancy.  As an additional attraction to spending your valuable time on this, I will take your work and read it on a vlog, along with your blog details rolling as credits on the tail end of the video etc so that we both win here:  I have fun reading your work, you get hits for your blog and we all write some unusual and original poetry.  🙂

Yes, I’m peculiar, but hey, isn’t this why you come here, to see what lunacy awaits your hungry eyes?  😉

  • Your favorite virtue
  • Your favorite qualities in a man
  • Your favorite qualities in a woman
  • Your chief characteristic
  • What you appreciate most in your friends
  • Your main fault
  • Your favorite occupation
  • Your idea of happiness
  • When and where were you most happy
  • Your idea of misery
  • If not yourself, who would you be?
  • Where would you like to live?
  • Your favorite colour
  • Your favorite flower
  • Your favorite prose
  • Your favorite poets
  • Your favorite heros in fiction
  • Your favorite heroines in fiction
  • Your favorite painters and composers
  • Your heroes in real life
  • Your favorite heroines in real life
  • Your favorite heroines in world history
  • Your favorite food and drink
  • Your favorite names
  • What you hate the most
  • World history characters you hate the most
  • The military event you admire the most
  • The reform you admire the most
  • The natural talent you’d like to be gifted with
  • How you wish to die
  • What is your present state of mind?
  • For what fault have you the most toleration?
  • Your favorite motto
  • What is your greatest fear?
  • What historical figure do you most identify with?
  • What is your most treasured possession?
  • What is your greatest extravagance?
  • What do you like most about your appearance?
  • What do you most dislike about your appearance?
  • If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
  • What animal would you like to be? Why?
  • What vehicle would you like to be? Why?
  • What is your secret indulgence?
Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

14 thoughts on “Are You Poets Up For A Challenge,”

    1. Thank you Tel honey, I’m certain that your result will be brilliant! I’ve got to head off to work now and make some cashish, but I owe you a few more letters so check you inbox later. hugs

      1. I don’t know if it’s brilliant, but I did it and it was a lot of fun. In honor of your blog, I really went all out and played with the words. Everything from français to Spanish and franglais is in that thing. Big time fun.

      2. If you did it Tel, it is brilliant, rest assured. I’m on my way over there now to read. I adore you for doing this! hugs 🙂

    1. If not the words, then at least the meaning behind them Adrian. I hope you visit again and read something that inspires you to comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

