I Opened My Email Today And…

you will  never guess what was waiting for me, an email from Sibling Rivalry Press’s head honcho, Bryan Borland.   Bryan sent this email to inform myself and the others mentioned, that we had been nominated for a Pushcart prize by Sibling Rivalry Press.  Yep, I’m shocked.  Yep, I’m blown away.  Yep, I’m feeling incredibly honoured.  Now, for the complete list of nominees and the work for which they/we have been nominated:

 

“The Touch” by Ocean Vuong – originally appeared in Burnings.

“Surrogates” by Joseph Harker – originally appeared in Fag Hag: A Scandalous Chapbook of Fabulously-Codependent Poetry.
“Billie” by Val B. Russell – originally appeared in Fag Hag: A Scandalous Chapbook of Fabulously-Codependent Poetry.
“A Distant Memory: Andrew Bifrost and Mouth of the Dragon” by Perry Brass – originally appeared in Ganymede Unfinished.

* I would like to add one last thing.  The poem “Billie” for which I was nominated is dear to my heart because the young man who was the subject of the work was a very special friend to me when I was younger.  Thank you Bryan, on behalf of both Billie and me, for keeping his memory alive on paper and in the minds of those who read about him.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

21 thoughts on “I Opened My Email Today And…”

  1. Congratulations! Its been quite a long while that I’ve been an active follower of your written work in this wonderful blog of yours that I know you are thoroughly deserving of all the accolades that come your way, and many, many more.. Like I said once before, for novices such as I, its a great priviledge and a great learning curve to read your delightfully eloquent poems, and your deep, thoughtful articles. Most importantly, you are an inspiration for me to carry on doing what I like doing best – writing.

    1. You know DarkLord, I don’t consider you a novice writer at all. I think your poetry is polished and you’ve got a great deal of talent. When I first started reading your work, I was impressed by the depth of feeling which is why it was a bit of a shock to discover that you are quite young. I thank you for your good wishes and what matters to me most, the important part of writing for me, is that someone can relate to it and if I’m having an especially good day, my words might even cause someone to laugh, cry or feel less alone. This is the real reason I keep putting one word in front of the other. Everyone who comes back here to read my work, is a greater award than any I could win in a contest. hugs 🙂

    1. Thank you Dr. B! It’s highly unlikely that I’ll win, but the respect shown me by this nomination, is by far the best prize this writer could ever receive. 🙂

  2. Congrats, Val. You’re very active at pursuing your writing and your work deserves recognition.

    I hope the past few months have gone well for you. I’m officially a “suit” and thus have been around less, but I still pop by every now and then.

    D

    1. Hey D! Long time no see, I hope life is treating you brilliantly my dear. You’re a suit now eh? You may be wearing the suit and tie, but underneath beats the heart of a rebel poet. My life is a model of peculiarity as always and yes, I think I’m altering my own rebel DNA by slowly morphing into that object of artistic scorn known as the ‘careerist writer.’ I’ve been contaminated with ambition for money and success and of course a book tour. lol Perhaps my reach doth exceed my grasp, but wish me luck anyway D. 🙂 Now, make sure you come back soon, you’ve been missed.

  3. I’m speechless Bryan, which means you have managed the impossible. HUGS and thank you so much for this, it is the kick in the ass to keep going with my book. 🙂

    1. Thanks Gabrielle, this was the encouragement I’ve been needing, this and the precious input from you and Tel, thank you my friend. 🙂

  4. wonderful my Val

    I admit I haven’t got my copy yet but it will be my new year present for myself and I am looking forward to read yours.

    congratulations..

Leave a Reply

