Stepping on stones

covered in slick mud and fear

I cover the familiar path

from invincible light

to mortal darkness

hearing the cries

coyotes yipping in anticipation

a menacing circle of hunger

a deer trapped, waiting to be consumed

the eyes of death invisible

of no other choice

I close my eyes and breathe

the silence of the beasts

is a dirge and warning

that all those who wander in the night

must eventually surrender to the beating of another heart

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

18 thoughts on “”

    1. Aha! Gabrielle, I knew you had bit of darkness in you šŸ˜‰ When I lived out there, with those beasties and the death shadow, I was probably more self and life aware than I have ever been, and I looked myself in the eye. Thank you for always being such a clear and supportive reader, that isn’t a small thing my dear, not by my estimation. hugs

  1. “Stepping on stones

    covered in slick mud and fear

    I cover the familiar path

    from invincible light

    to mortal darkness”

    Those words function like a mirror in which those that read and recognise, see their own story reflected.

    Powerful writing Val.

    1. Thank you Singer. It pleases me the most when my writing is familiar to those who read it and it is in that relating that If feel art is close to fulfilling its purpose. This comment meant a great deal to me sweetie. šŸ™‚ Just to give you a backstory to this poem, I used to live, albeit unwilllingly, in a wild place and it was not uncommon for me to witness the coyotes hunting the deer while I was fetching wood for the stove. I often equated my own situation as being akin to those deer, facing their mortality daily in a continuous dance with a menacing predator.

    1. The View eh B? Well then, come sit beside BabaWawa on the couch and I’ll see if I can arrange for Whoopie and Joy to have a twin meltdown! LOLOLOL Thanks B, for liking my work and for visiting us here on the view, albeit a warped one. šŸ˜‰

  2. I am so glad I found you, Val, through Gabrielle’s blog. I think we have a great deal in common and will be visiting you often in the future. I love the above poem and its truth about the harshness of life. Unfortunately I will be taking an unsolicited break for a week or so, but will be back again soon.

    1. Hi adeeyoyo, I’m glad you found me too and the fact that it was via Gabrielle’s blog makes it twice as wonderful. I look forward to having you visit me, but enjoy your break and I’ll see what sort of mayhem I can write for when you return. Much love, take care! šŸ™‚

  3. MIDNIGHT AT NOON

    There’s a moon
    In your mind
    Building waves of perfume
    On some happy trails

    There’s a moon
    In your heart
    Collapsing boundaries
    In an overwhelming dance

    Sell your horses
    And buy some dolphins
    You will see the 12 moons
    Who are waltzing around

    1. THIS is beautiful Gilles, a wonderful poem and if I could see twelve moons, perhaps looking up wouldn’t be so sad. šŸ™‚

  4. tough poem, Val…life gives us bitter experiences (each one of us have our real share of it ! ) to gain wisdom and to make us better people…and the beast sleeps in all of us…we need to tame ourselves and be good whatever life gives us…and i have found that flame of goodness in you Val, thankfully šŸ™‚

    wishes,
    devika

    1. Hey Devika! It’s good to see you again šŸ™‚ I agree, life hurts for us all, in one way or another, to one degree or another, but it is in the survival and learning that we can shine a light to prove it doesn’t have to knock us out completely. We can carry on, even if we walk away limping, at least we walk away. Some are not that fortunate and I suppose, it is for those who don’t make it, that I feel an obligation to be grateful for what I have and to do all I can to toss a little love around. Much love to you in your corner of our planet my good friend HUGS

    1. This is a beautiful video Gilles, thank you. Of course Concrete Blonde is a timeless band and you never cease to amaze me with your choice of music and how it reflects those things that are timely and important. šŸ™‚ Johnette Napolitano has such an original voice and I miss hearing her rich vocals. This just reminded me to go listen to some Concrete Blonde and some more Sunday music. If only it wasn’t so cloudy and foggy here I would be able to see that wonderful moon, but the moon makes me sad anyway. šŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Cindy, this one was given to me by the creatures, a few years ago in a cold and lonely place. I feel this is where we all find ourselves eventually, alone with nature, confronting our mortality by looking it right in the eyes, whether we want to or not. hugs

Leave a Reply

